Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 12-17-2013, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 161

New owner, just received my XDA-2, great price on sale for XMas.  I thought there might be enough interest in this nice digital pre to merit a thread.  As I'm a newbie to computer audio I'm hoping to have some free-ranging discussion of related topics as well. For ex., I will soon set about ripping CDs to WAV or FLAC files.

Comparisons to other usb DACs like Dragonfly or Explorer might be interesting here as well.  Per this month's Stereophile there's a soon-to-be-released crowd-source-funded $300 model called Geek Out from Light Harmonics.

Well anyway I've hooked the XDA-2 up to my laptop via USB, downloaded the Windows driver off the Emo website and just as easy as that I'm enjoying music. :)

So far I'm  playing CDs in the laptop's drive and listening with headphones as I'm waiting for some nice little KEF LS50 desktop monitors.  The SQ with SRC engaged is very detailed and pleasing to the ear, very nice and clearly superior to no-SRC.  It is also clearly superior to playing the same CD in my Denon DBP A100 connected via DenonLink to my Denon AVR A100 and listening through the AVR headphone jack.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

post #3 of 13 Old 01-07-2014, 03:38 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

soundofmind.... I am a new owner of the Emotiva XDA-2. So far I have yet to see any information regarding recommended break in time. Typically, i've seen a 40-48 break-in period prior to critical listening. Any recommendations? How many hours of listening do you have with the DAC? Any other suggestions on settings, software etc... Do you plan on playing high res audio files thru the DAC?

Set up:

Macbook Pro (2011 Model) output via USB using JRiver MC19 

Yamaha rx-v373 input via RCA cables from DAC