Just bought the Marantz SR5008 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-21-2013, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vinny68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wilmington MA.
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well not true this is my second one this week the first one didn't work right so i gave them a second chance. The first one had a video defect and marantz support couldn't trouble shoot the problem even the Hard Reset didn't even work , so I returned it to the store and bought another one.
So far so good it's only been a few hours in and it's just ok to me , but i'm not a tech.y guy nor now what to look for in a receiver I don't have wifi in it yet or blue ray. Just the tv and with the surround.I don't know what I should be looking for, a better pic. for the tv, a better sound coming out of my Cambridge Soundworks speakers. I thought my 10 yr. old Onkyo was great till it died on me. I'v heard great things about the Marantz sr5008 so i bought one but i just don't get why everyone thinks this is such a wounderful receiver. I would like to listen to all the pros and cons on what i may have missed. Or is there something a little better or something a little less thats just as good. THANKS
vinny68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-22-2013, 02:03 AM
Senior Writer @ AVS
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,024
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1445 Post(s)
Liked: 2721

You should be able to find setup tips on the forum. Generally speaking, it's up to you to tweak your setup, that receiver has a lot of capability—it'll take a while to get the most out of it.

 

If you want to experience exceptional picture and sound quality, Blu-ray is a great option. The quality of your source material is what matters most.


Find out more about Mark Henninger at www.imagicdigital.com
imagic is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-22-2013, 04:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1356 Post(s)
Liked: 1595
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1482248/the-official-marantz-sr5008-sr6008-and-sr7008-av-receiver-owners-thread/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-22-2013, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vinny68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wilmington MA.
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mark your right, I set up the blue ray today and the picture and sound was better, I bought the cable for the sub and the cat5 for internet and i'll set that up tomorrow.
I had this sub for many many years and I always had the speaker wires installed to this I never knew that all I needed was just one rca cable. It looks a lot cleaner back there and i'm hoping that it's going to sound even better. Thanks
vinny68 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-23-2013, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vinny68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wilmington MA.
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
how long does the audyssey setup take it's been running for about 15 to 20 minutes and I can't tell if it's done.
vinny68 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-23-2013, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vinny68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wilmington MA.
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That's all set, but when I go into General it says that Zone 2 is setup. All my connections are to Zone 1 and in General all it shows is Zone 2 and Rename Zones. When I go into renaming zones it says Main Zone is the Main Zone and Zone 2 is Zone 2. This sounds more confusing that it is.
vinny68 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-23-2013, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vinny68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wilmington MA.
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Now I don't have cable tv i'm sure it's something I did on the remote? all my connections are secure.
vinny68 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
MerlinBike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just installed a brand new SR5008 two days ago. It worked great for all of 15 hours— video, AirPlay, everything I wanted worked great. Then it asked to do a software update, downloaded the update, and then went into an update loop. I pulled the plug for a few hours, held the power button down for a few minutes, did a reset to factory settings a few times, and it still just keeps trying to update the software, ending up with a "Cannot connect OE" message. Marantz is closed on weekends, so no help there. Unbelievable! My network is fine: the Marantz even shows up on AirPlay for a few minutes when it powers on.

 

Any ideas?

MerlinBike is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-29-2013, 09:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1356 Post(s)
Liked: 1595
^^
First note, you would be better served posting in the Owner's thread linked below ...

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1482248/the-official-marantz-sr5008-sr6008-and-sr7008-av-receiver-owners-thread/0_100


Second, try doing a network reset ...pressing/holding the PRESET CH +/- buttons on the front panel of the AVR for 4-5 seconds while powering on the unit.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off