Marantz AV 7701 with Crown XLS amp source levels - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 12-31-2013, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just picked up a Marantz AV 7701 pre/pro and hooked it up to my new Crown XLS 1500 via unbalanced RCAs.

It sounds fantastic, but I wonder if I have the levels set correctly. I've been into home theater since I was old enough to save up and buy a Toshiba Cinema series tube in 1995, but I'm new to separates.

If I dial up the crowns gains to 60% or greater I detect a slight hum/buzz. Its only inaudible about 1-2 feet from the speakers.
The same buzz/hum is inaudible at a lower amp gain like 50% or so. I don't think its a ground loop, or if it is, it's among the quietest ground loop
I have heard.

I also feel like I should be getting more headroom on an amp that is 300W @ 8 ohms. The speakers are small 2 way Energy C-10s, until we buy a house next year and I can unpack the Paradigm Studio 60s. I am up near the mid 60s/100 volume on the Marantz with the amp set to the crowns gain of around 60%. I also have an inline Samson 7 band EQ with a gain knob which I have around 60% also.

Question is, how many of you dial up your pre/pro or AVR input level (in the menu HDMI 1, Blu ray, etc) to above "0" to compensate without inviting a higher noise floor? I could do that and/or dial up the R/L speaker levels again thru the Marantz menu as well.

Is that cheating?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-31-2013, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Why be concerned about anything that can't be heard from from your listening position when there is dead silence?

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
post #3 of 8 Old 12-31-2013, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter