Zone 2 Blues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-01-2014, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
colinnewton11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I've attached my Denon 3313 to speakers in our outdoor room through the assignable surround back connections. I've been playing CD's through a Samsung Blu Ray player and finding I have no volume control for the outdoor room speaker. Volume control works fine when playing through the Main channel. Have consulted the Denon manual but none of the menu controls seem to address the issue. By the way the Zone 2 mute does work Ok.

 

I'm assuming this is a compatibility issue with the Samsung bluray player? I'll buy a another player with analog outputs if I have to but would really just looking for a way to play several hours of music through the outdoor speakers without coming inside to change CDs.

 

Any suggestions on how to run outdoor speakers from my Denon much appreciated, thanks. 

colinnewton11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-04-2014, 01:10 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,063
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
So then you are saying that audio is passing to Zone 2 (ie. connected with a set of analog cables) rather just that there is no Zone 2 volume control? Try a soft reset of the AVR by setting it to Standby and unplugging it for 10 minutes as you should be able to have volume control with the main remote control using either the Zone 2 speaker posts or the Zone 2 pre-outs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-06-2014, 01:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
colinnewton11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

the soft reset worked...very odd. Thanks a lot, this was driving me nuts,

colinnewton11 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off