MIT Z Duplex Receptacle - Pretty Amazing! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 02-09-2014, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Had a chance to try out the 15A less expensive MIT Z Duplex receptacle ($150) and I'm pretty amazed. The receptacle is Hubbell medical grade, but with an attached parallel filter. Three separate filters to be precise, each tuned to a different frequency and all potted in a tiny plastic box which is attached to the back of the Hubbell.

As a Goldmund fan, I've been using MIT products for nearly 15 years now. Parallel filtering does not current limit, so I plug my amps in as well.

My observations:

- Noise floor dropped significantly.
- Bass became more controlled.
- Soundstage gained a bit of width, depth, and holography.

Consider me very impressed.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 02-10-2014, 11:08 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 466
could you explain to me how a power outlet can cause the sound stage to gain holography?

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
post #3 of 20 Old 02-10-2014, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

could you explain to me how a power outlet can cause the sound stage to gain holography?

The MIT filters work at different frequencies. I believe one of them even as low as 1kHz. Filtering out line pollution drops the noise floor a bit. The actual sound is now cleaner and has the same effect as being more focused. This is what a holographic effect is all about. You can better pick out the individual instruments and where they were positioned during the recording session. It's very audible in high quality acoustic recordings.