Problem with amp or speakers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-15-2014, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
maxpowers5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Lepai LP-2020A hooked up to 2 Energy C-100 speakers. This then connects to my devices via headphone jack. I have used this setup for quite some time. I recently unplugged it from my surface pro while it was still on, and it made a pop sound. Oh well, I have done this before, no biggy. Now when I try to plug it into my surface pro, and turn it on, it makes a continuous popping sound. Really fast pops. It is not even recognized as being plugged in. I plug it into my other laptop and it is not recognized. I plug it into my phone (Note 3) and it works fine. I have readjusted the cables and switched out the auxiliary cable.

Can anyone tell me what is going on here?
maxpowers5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-15-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It "sounds" like you damaged the input stage.... :-( the likely reason for one source working and not others is the amount of power (or impedance) that one works with versus the others.
budwich is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-15-2014, 11:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1161
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpowers5 View Post

I have a Lepai LP-2020A hooked up to 2 Energy C-100 speakers. This then connects to my devices via headphone jack. I have used this setup for quite some time. I recently unplugged it from my surface pro while it was still on, and it made a pop sound. Oh well, I have done this before, no biggy. Now when I try to plug it into my surface pro, and turn it on, it makes a continuous popping sound. Really fast pops. It is not even recognized as being plugged in. I plug it into my other laptop and it is not recognized. I plug it into my phone (Note 3) and it works fine. I have readjusted the cables and switched out the auxiliary cable.

Can anyone tell me what is going on here?

Own up to the fact that you fried an under $20 power amp and either buy a new one or something better.
arnyk is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-15-2014, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Really ArnyK? Way to welcome in a new member there buddy!rolleyes.gif
jdcrox is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-15-2014, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
maxpowers5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. So it may be fried. I initially bought the amp because I had the speakers and wire laying around not being used so I put them with my office computer to give a little boost to sound. Not entirely needed, but I enjoy it.
My options would be to get a new one and be more careful when unplugging it. Is there any other way to fix it? Take it apart, replace the component? Put it in the oven...? I know there are tricks and I am asking more for the fact that I am curious about electronics.
maxpowers5 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-15-2014, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Socketman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 65
if you plug the note 3 into the lepai it works?
Socketman is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-15-2014, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You could probably fix it IF you have some electrical skills and maybe some schematic drawings and / or understanding of the circuit layout.

I suspect its either a capacitor or maybe the input "IC" as it is likely some form of low cost "op-amp" IC. IF you have / had access to a scope, you could probably readily find the issue since you can get it to work in one configuration and not in another... thus with a scope you could probe the circuit along the way and see where the difference occurs.
budwich is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Energy C 100 Bookshelf Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off