Should I get an Elite sc-75 or add an XPA-5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 02-26-2014, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey everyone, im new here and have a question. I currently have an Onkyo tx-nr808 and I am wanting to spend some money. I can get a good deal on a Pioneer Elite sc-75 and sell my Onkyo or I can buy a new Emotiva XPA-5 or XPA-3 to use with my Onkyo. Im no pro at this stuff but I have been enjoying my setup for a few years now.

I currently have the Polk Audio RTi10s in the front, a CSi4 Center, and a pair of FXi6s for surrounds along with a DSW pro 500 polk sub.

I know the XPA-5 will be awesome, but I have been reading about the class D3 amps in the ELITE receivers and seems as though there output doesn't diminish near as much as my current setup. I guess im only getting around 50-60 watts per channel currently.

Your advice would be greatly appreciated and thanks everyone, ive spent the last 3 days reading about the Emotiva amps on this forum and other places and everyone here has very valuable information without bashing or flaming the new guys. very nice! biggrin.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 02-26-2014, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter

Just to throw this into the mix, Ive been reading about the Denon X4000 and that looks like a very nice option over the sc-75
post #3 of 25 Old 02-26-2014, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandiele View Post

... I am wanting to spend some money. ...

What are you dissatisfied with in your current setup?  If you want an actual improvement in the sound, look to room placement and room acoustics, and look to better speakers (including subwoofers).

Of course, if you want to just spend your money, anything will work for that.