Banana plugs touched, screwed up receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 03-16-2014, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Banana plugs on my right front speaker touched and apparently have done some damage to my Pioneer vsx-70 receiver. The receiver is about 10 weeks old, and has barely been used.

I just bought Energy CF-70's, popped in the plugs and it sounded great.  But then I accidentally jarred the speakers and the plugs touched.  Now any speaker I try on that channel crackles badly.  Since I screwed up, not sure if this will be covered under warranty. And even if it is, according to Best Buy, it should take about 3 weeks to get the receiver back.

I'm new to home theater, and have limited audio skill set.  I've posted this on couple of forums without much luck.  I'm hoping some experts here can advise me how to resolve this.

- Is this fixable? Or, have I completely torched the receiver, and need to replace it with a new one?
 - Is this typically covered under warranty? Or should I just look for a service center nearby that can get it done more quickly, though I'll have to pay?
 - Is this something easy to fix - maybe something I can do myself?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 03-16-2014, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 83
For an avr like this why didn't BB just take it back and exchange it? I also wonder why its protection didn't kick to protect it from something like this. Take it back and tell them its faulty and you want an exchange. What you did should not have junked that AVR.
Jay Brent likes this.
post #3 of 12 Old 03-16-2014, 07:16 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I don't really have an answer to your questions. But when wiring anything, always leave some slack on one side.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Pioneer Elite SC-55
Klipsch RF-3, RP-3, RC-3, RS-3