Need help finding an Audio Switch - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-19-2014, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joshmars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have Plantronic Rig headphones which can plug into multiple sources at once. For example right now i have it plugged into my computer with a USB, my phone with a 3.5 audio jack and my Xbox with a second 3.5 jack. I have to keep my computer plugged in for work and the 3.5 for my phone is also needed for work. My problem is whenever i want to use another device besides my Xbox i have to get behind my desk unplug the cord from my Xbox and then plug it into whatever I'm trying to use. I'm looking for something i can plug a 3.5 jack and then plug all my other devices into the back of it and be able to switch between them. I know there are receivers that do this but they are a bit expensive and kind of overkill since I'm only planning on using headphone.Does anyone know a a fairly cheap solution to my problem

Joshmars is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-19-2014, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
just buy a cheap rca based audio switcher (ie. lots of R/L rca jacks) and use 3.5 to rca adapters. I am sure radioshack and others have them for less than $30 for a push button type switcher.
budwich is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-19-2014, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Get the Cables To Go #28750 5-channel audio switch box.

Amazon has it for $20.

It has RCA jacks, so you will need an adapter from the 3.5 plug to RCA, but those only cost a buck or two from Monoprice.

The TCC-716 costs $30, and it has 6 channels. Four of them have RCA jacks and two of them have 3.5mm input jacks.
commsysman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off