External amp to power zone-2 with multiple speaker pairs. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-24-2014, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ammonkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pioneer RX-V673 with a 5.1 setup in zone-1. In my zone-2 setup I have 2 pairs of Yamaha in-ceiling 8ohm speakers (Yamaha NS-IW280CWH), and 1 pair of Yamaha outdoor speakers on the patio (Yamaha NS-AW150W). My zone-2 is not wired with volume controls so I have a speaker selector for impedance matching (Monster SS4).

I've never setup a zone-2 before and I'm not really sure where to start. My Question is what would be the best budget external amp to power zone-2? My budget is only around $200. My zone-2 room is a fairly large area with high ceilings. Would an Onkyo M-5010 or a Dayton APA150 be enough to power my zone-2? Which would be the recommended amplifier for my setup?

This is probably a newbie question, but could a pro amp be used in a home theater? PA amps like the Crown XLS1000 seem to offer much more power per channel for the price. Is there a reason to stay away from pro amps in a home theater setup?

another possible cheaper options is the Russound X75

Thank You! I apologize for the newbie questions.
ammonkc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-25-2014, 04:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,494
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1987 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
This amp would work just fine at 1/2 your budget.

http://www.amazon.com/AudioSource-AMP-100-Stereo-Power-Amplifier/dp/B00026BQJ6
ammonkc likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-25-2014, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ammonkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, It looks like I am gonna go with the AudioSource Amp.

I do have one more question. None of my speakers are wired with volume controls. I know that there is a volume knob on the AudioSource amp, but the amp will be in a closet. Is it possible to add a volume control for the entire zone-2? I don't need volume controls on these speakers for the impedance matching because that is being handled by the speaker-selector box. But a master volume control knob for zone-2 would be nice.
ammonkc is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-26-2014, 07:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,494
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1987 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Replace your current speaker selector box with one that has volume controls on it, like the one below, or more expensive models have remote controls or use smart phone apps.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?seq=1&format=2&p_id=8232&CAWELAID=1329456295&CAGPSPN=pla&catargetid=320013720000011126&cadevice=c&cagpspn=pla&gclid=COqz7NzIsb0CFVQV7AodvGgAgA

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off