The 'Official' 2014 Denon "S Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 35 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 12:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
How specifically do you know it's a stereo source (and not by what you hear)? Does the AVR display the input source signal as PCM 2.0 or PCM 5.1?
The AVR display says PCM. It doesn't specify whether it is 2.0 or 5.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
That's not what was asked. We don't care what you hear -- the question is what is the receiver reporting as the INPUT SIGNAL format.

The point is that it's not uncommon for an htpc set to output multichannel to still output multichannel with a stereo signal, and just send blank channels for the center / surrounds. 2ch PCM stereo in a 5.1 PCM "container". So this can't be verified until you actually check what your receiver is telling you it is getting, not what your ears are hearing.

The reason we are all on this is because upmixing a basic stereo signal is something that EVERY multich receiver has been able to do for literally decades, since Pro Logic and the like became commonplace. So it is implausible that your receiver can't upmix a stereo PCM signal. But..... if your receiver is being fooled by the htpc into thinking it is getting a 5.1 signal, it will not know to upmix, and this would explain the symptoms.
OK this is helpful in me understanding this. With my iPhone connected directly to the AVR I am able to mix the audio to pro logic or stereo surround (I prefer the later). My HTPC must be "fooling" my reciever into thinking that the PCM is 5.1 PCM. What is strange is that I set the playback device within the Windows control panel to stereo and it didn't fix it. Also, with a 5.1 source like DTS-HD I'm still able to select "external stereo" but with the current situation the display says "can't select" every time I try.

I found a Pioneer manual to an Elite model (mine is not) and it stated that when a PCM source is detected sound will only be heard from the front left and right speakers. It further stated that external stereo cannot be selected.

This is partly why I am on the fence of upgrading to perhaps a 2014 Denon.
jhughy2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 327
JD ;I've been "gone" 6 weeks, 2 weeks Business travel in Japan, other stuff, then 3 week out west vacation. missed the posting below.
Impossible to read all the threads/posts to catch up.
What Denon Owners manual is the below from?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
More clarification ....

1) Audyssey can tell the distance and level of any speaker in the system from the main listening position.

2) Ceiling speakers point straight down and Dolby as a spec/recommendation on the angle these speakers need to be placed relative to the main listening position (see diagram on the right below).

3) D&M will use the same object method as any other brand - Dolby has a specification - they would not allow any manufacturer to have a different method of decoding/playback.

In both diagrams below, only the "top" speakers are used with Atmos in addition to the standard 5.1. or 7.1 (rear surround) setup. The Height speakers are only shown to reference their position in relation to the "top" speakers.

mtbdudex is online now  
post #1023 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 05:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,176
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2293 Post(s)
Liked: 1831
^^
All D&M Atmos model manuals to include: Denon X4100W/X5200W/X7200W and Marantz SR7009/AV7702/AV8802

Note to that we have split off the X4100W/X5200W/X7200W into a separate thread linked below to avoid any further Atmos discussion in this thread ...

The "Official" 2014 Denon Atmos+XT32 Model Thread (X4100/X5200/X7200)
chi_guy50 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-27-2014 at 05:40 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1024 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
Yeah I would think either of those would work just fine. Denon doesn't really change remote commands.
It appears that the x3100w will not accept the codes of the x2100w. Tried it and did not work. Rather than manually map each button from the original remote, I hope Logitech adds this receiver quickly.

Setup was uneventful. Nice guided interface. Audyssey worked fine. So far so good. Bluetooth synced fine with iPad. Wired internet recognized and functioning well.

Reassigned one input to Analog for VCR and was easy to do.
Only issue as of now is the 3D from DirectTV channel 107 is not passing through (HDMI 1 on CBL). The DVD passes thru OK on BLU RAY HDMI. Cables are high speed HDMI and of course the TV is as well.

So far I like the receiver.
Maurice is offline  
post #1025 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 04:53 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just started my receiver research and I was wondering if the Denon AVR-X2100W 7.2 Channel Full 4K Ultra HD A/V Receiver with Bluetooth and Wi-Fi is a good choice? I am looking to future prof myself some, but I do not plan on getting a 4K panel for a while. I just got a samsung plasma.

I am moving up from an older Onkyo which does not have HDMI!
ParityBit is offline  
post #1026 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1053 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
I just started my receiver research and I was wondering if the Denon AVR-X2100W 7.2 Channel Full 4K Ultra HD A/V Receiver with Bluetooth and Wi-Fi is a good choice? I am looking to future prof myself some, but I do not plan on getting a 4K panel for a while. I just got a samsung plasma.

I am moving up from an older Onkyo which does not have HDMI!
Look at the Denon 4520 while it is on sale. There are terrific prices on it now from AVS and others. I'm still amazed at how much better it sounds than my old Denon 3808.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1027 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 05:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,176
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2293 Post(s)
Liked: 1831
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
I just started my receiver research and I was wondering if the Denon AVR-X2100W 7.2 Channel Full 4K Ultra HD A/V Receiver with Bluetooth and Wi-Fi is a good choice? I am looking to future prof myself some, but I do not plan on getting a 4K panel for a while. I just got a samsung plasma.

I am moving up from an older Onkyo which does not have HDMI!
Until 2015/2016 there is not likely to be any real future proof solution as the 2014 models will be HDMI 2.0 but not HDCP 2.2. That video chip is not likely to be available until 2015/2016.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1028 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 05:51 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Look at the Denon 4520 while it is on sale. There are terrific prices on it now from AVS and others. I'm still amazed at how much better it sounds than my old Denon 3808.
Well, I am not looking to spend too much more than the $700 this would cost. Either this one or something in the same price range that is comparable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Until 2015/2016 there is not likely to be any real future proof solution as the 2014 models will be HDMI 2.0 but not HDCP 2.2. That video chip is not likely to be available until 2015/2016.
Okay, well I guess it will have to be "mostly" future proof? I need to replace mine for sure. I figure I will start with this and then move to speakers.
ParityBit is offline  
post #1029 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 08:11 PM
Member
 
jjs2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Until 2015/2016 there is not likely to be any real future proof solution as the 2014 models will be HDMI 2.0 but not HDCP 2.2. That video chip is not likely to be available until 2015/2016.
Does the HDCP 2.2 standard apply to just hardware playback devices or streaming too? If it's strictly a hardware based feature does it really matter or am I not understanding it correctly?

I'm a dinosaur in that I still like to own media but almost no one does anymore and I have to think the prospects of a "new" standard for 4k, 8k or whatever "k" players is unlikely to ever be mainstream. I still know plenty of people who don't own blu-ray players! Cable/Sat companies HATE giving away new equipment. The last HD cable box I had from Comcast up until late last year was circa 2007. The notion that they are preparing to hand out tens of millions of new boxes when their push is for cloud-based streaming is very unlikely - at least in the short run.
jjs2000 is offline  
post #1030 of 2181 Old 07-27-2014, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
krozman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjs2000 View Post

I'm a dinosaur in that I still like to own media .
Did some event take place that suddenly made streaming devices better audio than a blu ray? Pretty sure buying blu rays doesn't qualify you as a dinosaur does it? If so, I'm right there with you, with an added slice of denial!
krozman is offline  
post #1031 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 03:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,176
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2293 Post(s)
Liked: 1831
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjs2000 View Post
Does the HDCP 2.2 standard apply to just hardware playback devices or streaming too? If it's strictly a hardware based feature does it really matter or am I not understanding it correctly?

I'm a dinosaur in that I still like to own media but almost no one does anymore and I have to think the prospects of a "new" standard for 4k, 8k or whatever "k" players is unlikely to ever be mainstream. I still know plenty of people who don't own blu-ray players! Cable/Sat companies HATE giving away new equipment. The last HD cable box I had from Comcast up until late last year was circa 2007. The notion that they are preparing to hand out tens of millions of new boxes when their push is for cloud-based streaming is very unlikely - at least in the short run.
Just HDMI hardware devices.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1032 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 05:57 AM
Member
 
ronton3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Macon, Mo
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am also a dinosaur who listens to vintage tube amps and speakers for music, I even have a mono set up. I am not impressed by digital explosion movies(where I think atmos will be most important), that is why I am considering the X3100. At the same time I do want the ability to experiment with my Ipad Air and blue tooth, I also get very good quality from Net Flix and an Amazon Fire, who knows what the next Apple Tv, will bring. ron

Last edited by ronton3; 07-28-2014 at 06:04 AM.
ronton3 is offline  
post #1033 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 11:54 AM
Member
 
wsanford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Help diagnosing clicks, hum, and pixelation from a Denon AVR X4000

This one year old Denon AVR X-4000 is making clicking noises like it normally does when switching inputs or sound settings, except it is doing it at random. Does it on any input, and does it when receiver is in standy mode. All connections are HDMI. I have also experienced some pixelation and such when patched through the receiver, and my first step at diagnosing this was to move the cable box to the sunroom tv, which has an identical cable box attached directly. The issues only appear when using the Denon AVR X4000. I have also noticed the Denon picking up the hum the plasma generates on white screens, it did not used to do that. I have checked for ground loops, and even lifted the grounds temporarily, which did not help. I eliminated the various UPS's, no help.

Any ideas? I did several soft resets, and got a click minutes after it was plugged back into power. Perhaps a microprocessor reset? It feels to me like it will need a trip to New Jersey, but I wanted to see if anyone else had this issue.

As much as I dread restoring all the settings, I think the micro reset is probably next up, followed the the tedious and unaesthetic process of physically distancing the Denon from any source of interfering radiation, like the Panasonic Plasma.

Thanks.

Denon AVR-X4000
Onkyo M-5130
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT60
SVS Dual-PB12-NSD, a pair
Pioneer Andrew Jones
Cambridge Soundworks Dipole rear center
X-Rite EODIS3 i1Display/Calman5 Control
Denon AH-D600 headphones
wsanford is offline  
post #1034 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
KHarmo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone have an x3100 or have any release news?
KHarmo88 is offline  
post #1035 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr. Wonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by KHarmo88 View Post
Anyone have an x3100 or have any release news?
Maurice does.

I would be interested in impressions, and also any additional release news we have.
Mr. Wonderful is offline  
post #1036 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Wonderful View Post
Maurice does.

I would be interested in impressions, and also any additional release news we have.
AVRx3100w

So far so good 1 day of use. Logitech added the AVR to their Harmony ultimate database remote this morning and all works.

I have in wall speakers in a large bedroom. 5.1. The 3100 replaced a 4306 and a HDMI switch. Sound quality is about the same, but likely limited by the speakers.

I have 6 HDMI devices and 1 analog VCR.

The Internet radio and the Bluetooth (paired with iPad) work fine. Do not have pandora, spotify or XM radio. I have Mac's so it does not natively see the media on them.

I have a Wired Connection. An Update to the firmware showed on screen after a few hours and took about 15 minutes and the DVR rebooted and all worked.

I used the audyssey auto-setup. 8 positions - worked fine.

Good interface (tried also the IP from a browser - a great way to configure).
Solved the 3D pass thru issue I mentioned above (I had a HDMI splitter out of the DirecTV receiver that interfered)

TV is a Sony 4K - all video looks good (DirecTV, Apple TV, roku, blu ray). I am using an optical cable for TV sound returning to AVR because I already had it wired that way, may change it to audio return via the one HDMI.

Have not tested if Ethernet passes from AVR to TV via HDMI as the TV has a wired Ethernet connection.
provenflipper likes this.
Maurice is offline  
post #1037 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 06:29 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,

I just picked up a x2100 to go with my new TV. I get both tomorrow! Any suggestions on what/how I should setup first? I have the cable box, ps4, xbox one and xbox 360.
ParityBit is offline  
post #1038 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
Hi all,

I just picked up a x2100 to go with my new TV. I get both tomorrow! Any suggestions on what/how I should setup first? I have the cable box, ps4, xbox one and xbox 360.
Just map up to what HDMI you are connecting what.
As all your devices are HDMI, I assume, very easy setup.

Connect the speakers, the TV and the devices and when it boots up it will take you to a guided setup (assuming it is like the one on the 3100) and it will verify the speakers and devices are connected correctly and will then run the Audyssey setup.
Maurice is offline  
post #1039 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 07:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,176
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2293 Post(s)
Liked: 1831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurice View Post
Have not tested if Ethernet passes from AVR to TV via HDMI as the TV has a wired Ethernet connection.
This feature has yet to be implemented on any device.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1040 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
whats the cheapest denon that has audyssey sub EQ ht for 2 subs? i looked at the x4000 and its more than i want to spend. and i dont need all the extras it has.
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #1041 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 479
^^^ that's it; CALL jdsmoothie with AVS Sales, maybe he can make you a better deal
SanchoPanza is offline  
post #1042 of 2181 Old 07-28-2014, 11:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
^^^ that's it; CALL jdsmoothie with AVS Sales, maybe he can make you a better deal
i never got any thing from him
zoro is offline  
post #1043 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 03:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,176
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2293 Post(s)
Liked: 1831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luisfc1972 View Post
whats the cheapest denon that has audyssey sub EQ ht for 2 subs? i looked at the x4000 and its more than i want to spend. and i dont need all the extras it has.
There are currently only two Denon models with Audyssey Sub EQ HT .... X4000 and 4520CI. The lowest 2014 model will be the X4100W. Note however, that as long as you have identical subs that are placed equidistant from the main listening position, there is no real benefit to Sub EQ HT (other then the fact that you can also adjust the volume level independently on each sub as well).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1044 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 06:13 AM
Member
 
ronton3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Macon, Mo
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Denon Site

Denon has updated their website.

http://usa.denon.com/us/product/home...rsht/avrx3100w
ronton3 is offline  
post #1045 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 06:25 AM
Member
 
KHarmo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronton3 View Post
Finally! Looks like they should be shipping soon!
KHarmo88 is offline  
post #1046 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There are currently only two Denon models with Audyssey Sub EQ HT .... X4000 and 4520CI. The lowest 2014 model will be the X4100W. Note however, that as long as you have identical subs that are placed equidistant from the main listening position, there is no real benefit to Sub EQ HT (other then the fact that you can also adjust the volume level independently on each sub as well).
i see much cheaper models that are 5.2 or 7.2 but they dont have sub eq ht. i thought the easiest and best way was to spend the money on an avr with sub eq ht to get two subs working together.

i want audyssey to configure both subs like my current 1712 audyssey has done for 1 sub.

both subs will be exactly the same. im looking at the current sale on outlaw ex.

but with a .2 avr do i run audyssey on one sub, once that is dialed in, then i run audyssey again for the second sub and get that one dialed in? then im done? i love audyssey i count on it. i really dont want to have to buy equipment like a mic and then learn rew to get two subs workign together. i just want the easiest way to do this.

maybe im making this more complicated than it actually is
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #1047 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 08:21 PM
Member
 
amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope this is an easy one for you guys:

x2100 or x1100?


-I'm very focused on sound quality for films and music 50/50
-I'll be running 5.1 (small house with no dedicated room for a theater so no plans on upgrading past that for at least 6-10 years).
-Speakers are TriTrix (MTM TL's for the mains, MTM sealed for the center and sealed MT's for the surrounds).
-Sub is BIC F12
-The room is about 20x16ft
-Baby on the way so I can't see ever running it that loud any time in the near future
-I'd like to be able to run my SNES and N64 through the receiver if possible since the TV will be mounted very flat against the wall and connecting cables on the fly is gonna suck.

Can you guys think of any reason to spend the extra $200 for the x2100 given my somewhat modest parameters?
amps is offline  
post #1048 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Good grief do the screened on graphics look like bunk on the 3100. Sure hope that's ditched in the 4 and 5000 series.

James
mastermaybe is offline  
post #1049 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 08:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I purchased the AVR-S700W a few days ago and have been testing it. A couple things that I am having challenges with, both Bluetooth related:


1 - the "range" is pretty poor. If my device is right beside the AVR then Bluetooth works OK. If am more than a couple feet away then playback is pretty poor. Not sure what would be considered normal. Granted, the AVR is at the bottom of an A/V stack so likely lots of interference from the other devices. If I get the energy I may try to reconfigure things to see if it helps.


2 - I have experienced a couple times now when watching a different source that the AVR randomly switches to the Bluetooth source and tries to play form my phone even though my phone is sitting there untouched and is not even playing any music. It seems like the AVR is set to auto switch to Bluetooth when it detects a signal, or when a device connects. Is that normal? Is there a setting to change this auto switching behaviour?

Last edited by ande8150; 07-29-2014 at 08:55 PM.
ande8150 is offline  
post #1050 of 2181 Old 07-29-2014, 09:24 PM
Senior Member
 
krozman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by ande8150 View Post
I purchased the AVR-S700W a few days ago and have been testing it. A couple things that I am having challenges with, both Bluetooth related:


1 - the "range" is pretty poor. If my device is right beside the AVR then Bluetooth works OK. If am more than a couple feet away then playback is pretty poor. Not sure what would be considered normal. Granted, the AVR is at the bottom of an A/V stack so likely lots of interference from the other devices. If I get the energy I may try to reconfigure things to see if it helps.


2 - I have experienced a couple times now when watching a different source that the AVR randomly switches to the Bluetooth source and tries to play form my phone even though my phone is sitting there untouched and is not even playing any music. It seems like the AVR is set to auto switch to Bluetooth when it detects a signal, or when a device connects. Is that normal? Is there a setting to change this auto switching behaviour?
This is exactly my fear. I'm putting my X3100W (assuming I buy it) in my home theatre center downstairs and I'm hoping it connects to my WIFI router upstairs. My cell phone connects via WIFI downstairs and I know that the router wont be the issue. However, Denon's materials don't indicate whether you can install a more powerful antenna if their stock one isn't up to par. In a high end receiver, that should be standard if they take WIFI seriously
krozman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
denon s500bt , X1100W , X2100W , x3100w
Gear in this thread - x3100w by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off