Replace Denon AVR-4810ci - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-24-2014, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fab68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon AVR 4810 in perfect working condition. My question is, one of my other Denon AVR has failed and I need to replace. If you had the opportunity to replace the Denon AVR 4810, what would you go after? I like the sound quality,3D or 4K is not important to me. I am using all B&W 600 speakers and two SVS subs on a 7.2 set up.

Thanks
fab68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-24-2014, 07:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,218
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 1721
You'll likely want to replace it with an XT32 unit for better audio quality, so just depends on your budget as both the X4000 and the current flagship that replaced the 4810CI, the 4520CI both use XT32 as well as Audyssey Sub EQ HT (dual subs).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-24-2014, 07:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fab68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

You'll likely want to replace it with an XT32 unit for better audio quality, so just depends on your budget as both the X4000 and the current flagship that replaced the 4810CI, the 4520CI both use XT32 as well as Audyssey Sub EQ HT (dual subs).

Thanks jdsmoothie, I understand that the AVR 4520 does not have the transformers and sound quality as the AVR 4810? Could you give me your point of view? I am willing to spend up to $2,500.
fab68 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 05-25-2014, 05:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,218
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 1721
^^
Actually the 4520CI would have better quality as it uses the much more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT32 vs. only MultEQ XT on your 4810. It is also 150W vs. 140W on the 4810CI and is designed to power 4-ohm speakers to reference volume levels so would be comparable in power to the 4810CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-25-2014, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 257
For best sound quality, I suggest that you go to a NAD T758 receiver, or a Cambridge 651R receiver.

IMO they will have better sound quality/less distortion driving those speakers.

The Denon power ratings are grossly overstated IMO, and do not reflect real power when driving real speakers systems,, which are far more demanding than the simple resistor load used on the test bench, and cause more distortion.

The NAD and Cambridge receivers are better designed when it comes to driving that type of speakers and still maintaining low distortion levels.
commsysman is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-25-2014, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fab68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by commsysman View Post

For best sound quality, I suggest that you go to a NAD T758 receiver, or a Cambridge 651R receiver.

IMO they will have better sound quality/less distortion driving those speakers.

The Denon power ratings are grossly overstated IMO, and do not reflect real power when driving real speakers systems,, which are far more demanding than the simple resistor load used on the test bench, and cause more distortion.

The NAD and Cambridge receivers are better designed when it comes to driving that type of speakers and still maintaining low distortion levels.

Thank you commsysman, I will look these two up…..Have you had the chance to listen to them?
fab68 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-25-2014, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Yes I have.

A close friend of mine went from another receiver to the Cambridge 651R, and he couldn't believe how dramatic the improvement was.

You couldn't get the smile off of his face for a week.

The NAD is almost as good, but IMO the Cambridge is unquestionably the best-sounding, if you can afford it.
commsysman is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-25-2014, 07:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,218
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 1721
Note too the 4520CI also features Audyssey Sub EQ HT which will independently set the level and delay of each of your SVS subs with independent volume control of each sub as well as opposed to the single volume control of the sub pre-outs on the 4810CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-25-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Lttrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

 

** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

 

JD your tagline quoted above says to reset the microprocessor. How is this accomplished, simply by unplugging for a few minutes?  Thanks.

Lttrader is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-26-2014, 05:08 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,218
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 1721
^^
Unplugging the power cord from the AVR for 10 minutes would result in a "soft reset" which will resolve some issues without changing any settings while resetting the microprocessor is a "hard reset" procedure listed in the Owner's manual (Troubleshooting section p. 96 for your 929) which will reset all settings back to factory defaults. Although a single reset will generally resolve the issue, when it does not, some owners have found that doing several resets in a row was more successful in resolving their issue.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-26-2014, 09:24 AM
Member
 
Lttrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Unplugging the power cord from the AVR for 10 minutes would result in a "soft reset" which will resolve some issues without changing any settings while resetting the microprocessor is a "hard reset" procedure listed in the Owner's manual (Troubleshooting section p. 96 for your 929) which will reset all settings back to factory defaults. Although a single reset will generally resolve the issue, when it does not, some owners have found that doing several resets in a row was more successful in resolving their issue.

 

Thanks JD. Your advice is appreciated. Last night I figured out my problem was the damn DVR again and not the 929. When I reset the DVR it did a firmware upgrade and all is well now.

Lttrader is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off