Denon AVR-X7200W 9.2/13.2ch 2014/2015 Receiver Details- - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 399 Old 06-11-2014, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKR1963 View Post

Hopefully CEDIA will have info on the AVR-X9200 too as that is the unit I will be likely more interested in. I hope it comes out when the 7200 does but, I can wait a little longer if needed.

I'm going to go with that there will no such thing coming as a X9200 (Hope I'm wrong though).

Marantz has announced their 2014/2015 AV8802 Pre/Pro and it looks like it is an exact copy, terminal wise, as the X7200W. Therefore if there was a X9200 coming I would expect the Marantz Pre/Pro to mirror that.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1535197/marantz-av8802-13-2-xlr-processor-hdmi-2-0-isf-wifi-bluetooth-details

From AVCesar-

Marantz AV8802 2014/2015 Pre/Pro




Denon's AVR-X7200W




Also I will disconcertingly say that I doubt, though again I hope I'm wrong, that there will also be a Denon Pre/Pro annouced as you think D&M would of annouced the Denon Pre/Pro at the same time as their Marantz new Pre/Pro at the product showing in France.

Guess time will tell.

As an aside from a quick glance it seems like D&M have removed a few features (besides those that they added) in comparison the AVR-4520/8801.

- No THX Ultra 2 Certification (Wasn't on the previous models either)
- Removal of the network switch (even though it wasn't a gigabit switch)
- Zone 4 Dropped
- Media Player RCA Video/Audio Output Dropped
Spizz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 399 Old 06-11-2014, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post

As an aside from a quick glance it seems like D&M have removed a few features (besides those that they added) in comparison the AVR-4520/8801.

- No THX Ultra 2 Certification (Wasn't on the previous models either)
- Removal of the network switch (even though it wasn't a gigabit switch)
- Zone 4 Dropped
- Media Player RCA Video/Audio Output Dropped
Dang, I actually used that Ethernet switch! I connected an Ethernet cable and an HDMI cable to my HDBaseT wall plate -- this allowed me to get both HDMI and Ethernet to my projector over a single Cat6 cable. Oh well, I have another switch I can use instead.
Schwa is offline  
post #33 of 399 Old 06-12-2014, 01:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I think that if an X9200 is coming........and it was said to be in the $5000 range........that range is far higher cost wise than the Marantz AV8802. I would not really expect them to have the same connections and appearance etc.


I am assuming that the AV8802 is around the same as the AV8801 ...... $3599 or so. I am kind of wanting to go back to Denon as my main unit. I have a 3808 and it still does fine duty in my family room. My theater system has an Onkyo 3009 which I really like ......... but am expecting issues in the future. I want to get a Denon again and am really hoping they will go back to the higher end 5308 type units ( I have the $ this time.....unlike in the 5308 days).
JKR1963 is offline  
post #34 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nightlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 150
13.2? Now where should I put those extra? Would be nice if they could be configured for VOG...

Under construction: the Larch theater
Nightlord is offline  
post #35 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 09:15 AM
Member
 
mikeltee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm... I thought there was an 11 channel amp built in, but according to these specs, there is only 9 again. 13.1 is perfect as I need 11.1 in my HT and 2 going to my outdoor speakers. I was going to wait and get this, but since there are only going to be 9 amps, I think I'll grab a 4520 and hope there is a FW update for Atmos. I could care less about HDMI 2.0 at this point.

Edit: after reading Doug's post, I examined the pic of the back of the 7200 and indeed it does have 11 pairs of speaker posts indicating and 11 channel amp. I will be waiting for this beast! I guess I'll be wiring up some rear heights in the meantime.

Last edited by mikeltee; 06-17-2014 at 09:27 AM.
mikeltee is offline  
post #36 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Snowmanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 137
The number of speaker posts doesn't necessarily correlate to the number of internal amp channels. Since denon has amp assign features they provide for more potential connection options. I'd wager it is a safe bet that there will be no more than 9 powered channels (which is a lot) and that there will be no FW updates for existing models such as the 4520 to add Atmos.
Snowmanick is offline  
post #37 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowmanick View Post
The number of speaker posts doesn't necessarily correlate to the number of internal amp channels. Since denon has amp assign features they provide for more potential connection options. I'd wager it is a safe bet that there will be no more than 9 powered channels (which is a lot) and that there will be no FW updates for existing models such as the 4520 to add Atmos.
I agree that it is likely the X7200, like the X5200, will have just 9 internal amps. However, I am hoping that the 13.2 pre-outs will allow for expansion to 13 channels in the main zone (at least on the X7200 if not on the X5200); this would presumably presage a Dolby Atmos speaker configuration adding the second set of height speakers to a "standard" 11.2 set-up.

And anyone who is hoping for a FW update to add Atmos (or DTS UHD) to their 4520 is going to be very disappointed.
chi_guy50 is offline  
post #38 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,838
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightlord View Post
13.2? Now where should I put those extra? Would be nice if they could be configured for VOG...
13 speakers = Centre, 2 Fronts, 2 Wides, 2 Sides, 2 Rears, 2 Front Heights, 2 Rear Heights. 9.2.4 configuration. The 4 Height speakers can phantom image a VOG directly overhead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeltee View Post
I think I'll grab a 4520 and hope there is a FW update for Atmos.
Running Atmos requires a new chipset, which the 4520 doesn't have (can't be updated).

Sanjay

Last edited by sdurani; 06-17-2014 at 10:44 AM.
sdurani is offline  
post #39 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nightlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
13 speakers = Centre, 2 Fronts, 2 Wides, 2 Sides, 2 Rears, 2 Front Heights, 2 Rear Heights. 9.2.4 configuration. The 4 Height speakers can phantom image a VOG
Thanks, that's what I "feared". My rear surrounds are supposed to be placed quite high, so any highs above is quite ruled out... It would be about a foot higher at the most.

I will be placing four physical speakers for VOG, so I have no use for a phantom one...

Under construction: the Larch theater
Nightlord is offline  
post #40 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nightlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Running Atmos requires a new chipset, which the 4520 doesn't have (can't be updated).
Even if the current DSP could be reprogrammed, they would not tell anyone about it as it would lose them too much money...

Under construction: the Larch theater
Nightlord is offline  
post #41 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,838
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightlord View Post
My rear surrounds are supposed to be placed quite high, so any highs above is quite ruled out...
Then put the rear heights at a different angle, like between the sides and rears, so that they're not above any of your main speakers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightlord View Post
I will be placing four physical speakers for VOG, so I have no use for a phantom one...
Are you doing that to support Auro? (Atmos doesn't have VOG, just a couple of height arrays)

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #42 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 01:34 PM
Member
 
dschulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
(Atmos doesn't have VOG, just a couple of height arrays)
Atmos has overheads in its theatrical implementation, and I don't think Dolby has publicly told us anything about the speaker configuration for home theater. Have you seen something confirming heights vs VOG?
dschulz is offline  
post #43 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
jevans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I guess it is almost time to sell my upgraded 5308ci. I'm already wired for 4 heights and already have speakers mounted. Also wired an additional two height speakers back in 2010 when I upgraded the cabling for my surround speakers. I'll still be able to power 13 speakers, but I'd have to use 8 of the amps in the x7200 or try to squeeze in another 5 or 7-channel amp somewhere.

HD-DVD = 94
Blu-Ray = 120 ( 24 Warner red2blu )
jevans64 is offline  
post #44 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 02:42 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by JKR1963

Hopefully CEDIA will have info on the AVR-X9200 too as that is the unit I will be likely more interested in. I hope it comes out when the 7200 does but, I can wait a little longer if needed.


I'm going to go with that there will no such thing coming as a X9200 (Hope I'm wrong though).

Marantz has announced their 2014/2015 AV8802 Pre/Pro and it looks like it is an exact copy, terminal wise, as the X7200W. Therefore if there was a X9200 coming I would expect the Marantz Pre/Pro to mirror that.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1535197/ma...etooth-details

From AVCesar-

Marantz AV8802 2014/2015 Pre/Pro




Denon's AVR-X7200W




Also I will disconcertingly say that I doubt, though again I hope I'm wrong, that there will also be a Denon Pre/Pro annouced as you think D&M would of annouced the Denon Pre/Pro at the same time as their Marantz new Pre/Pro at the product showing in France.

Guess time will tell.

As an aside from a quick glance it seems like D&M have removed a few features (besides those that they added) in comparison the AVR-4520/8801.

- No THX Ultra 2 Certification (Wasn't on the previous models either)
- Removal of the network switch (even though it wasn't a gigabit switch)
- Zone 4 Dropped
- Media Player RCA Video/Audio Output Dropped

Who still uses component video!! 13.2 it is $1000 more than the previous version!!!!!
wse is offline  
post #45 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nightlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern Sweden
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Are you doing that to support Auro? (Atmos doesn't have VOG, just a couple of height arrays)
No, I'm planning to steal common mode signal from the surround channels and move up there by way of a few matrix decoders I have lying around...

But given that my whole setup is "19.6", if Atmos can use every speaker on it's own, then I'll be a happy camper.

Under construction: the Larch theater

Last edited by Nightlord; 06-17-2014 at 02:58 PM.
Nightlord is offline  
post #46 of 399 Old 06-17-2014, 03:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,838
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dschulz View Post
Have you seen something confirming heights vs VOG?
Couple of things.

First, the theatrical implementations of Auro and Atmos. The former has a mono VOG channel overhead while the latter has stereo channel beds spread apart above. Auro has VOG in their consumer implementation so I expect Atmos to have L/R heights in its consumer version.

Second, the back panel of your LS10 pre-pro has a VOG output (hard to tell from the pics, but I think it is labeled Tc -Top Centre?- or something similar). The pics of the Atmos-based receivers and pre-pro posted at AVS (even in this thread) show no such output, but instead a couple pairs of L/R heights.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #47 of 399 Old 06-18-2014, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
jevans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 65
We are talking Denon here, so we will get little stickers we can place over the old output labels when they issue any firmware update that might, or might not, assign channels for VoG.

HD-DVD = 94
Blu-Ray = 120 ( 24 Warner red2blu )
jevans64 is offline  
post #48 of 399 Old 06-19-2014, 03:28 AM
Member
 
epepin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
9.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
I agree that it is likely the X7200, like the X5200, will have just 9 internal amps. However, I am hoping that the 13.2 pre-outs will allow for expansion to 13 channels in the main zone (at least on the X7200 if not on the X5200); this would presumably presage a Dolby Atmos speaker configuration adding the second set of height speakers to a "standard" 11.2 set-up.
All of the French sites list the X7200W as 9.2, and I believe I've read that D&W has press releases there before here.
epepin is online now  
post #49 of 399 Old 06-20-2014, 04:22 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,182
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
It's been confirmed that Dolby Atmos will be released with the new units (as opposed to firmware update) beginning with the X4100W and X5200W, both of which will have 4 processors (up from the 2 now on the X4000 and required to allow for the additional processing required for Audyssey XT32 to work with Dolby Atmos). DTS UHD has not been fully developed yet by DTS, so at some point may be added with a firmware update.

I also learned that the reason Onkyo dropped Audyssey was primarily due to the higher processing power required to make Audyssey and Atmos work together. Using their own branded AccuEQ, that bypasses EQ'ing the FL/FR speakers, they will likely now be able to add Atmos to even lower level models, but possibly not going more than 2 additional ceiling speakers.
Spizz, Hugo S, kbarnes701 and 1 others like this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 06-21-2014 at 05:07 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #50 of 399 Old 06-20-2014, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 28
jdsmoothie- Do you know if we will see a Denon Pre/Pro or only the Marantz version?
Spizz is online now  
post #51 of 399 Old 06-21-2014, 05:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,182
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
Sorry, but haven't heard. D&M keeps the model releases close to the vest until just prior to release.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #52 of 399 Old 06-21-2014, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Glad my buddy Craig List hasn't run outa speakers just yet...
SanchoPanza is online now  
post #53 of 399 Old 06-23-2014, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 9,227
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by dschulz View Post
Atmos has overheads in its theatrical implementation, and I don't think Dolby has publicly told us anything about the speaker configuration for home theater. Have you seen something confirming heights vs VOG?
They announced them today with their official Atmos press info. Their "Best" configurations are:

Standard 7.1 plus four over heads/ceilings or standard 7.1 + wides + 2 over heads/ceilings. You have to choose between two compromises. There is no option for both (a 13.1 configuration)... as of yet. They recommend the former over the latter. There is no word if the Blu-ray Atmos soundtracks (mentioned as coming this fall and next year) will have built-in support for more speaker positions as 2nd generation Atmos decoders get released. One big selling point was that object surround was scalable... unlike channel-based surround. Though, we don't know what that means in the consumer versions.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #54 of 399 Old 06-26-2014, 02:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Sorry, but haven't heard. D&M keeps the model releases close to the vest until just prior to release.
True.
Spizz is online now  
post #55 of 399 Old 06-28-2014, 01:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Info about Dolby Atmos and how it will work at home-

http://blog.dolby.com/2014/06/dolby-...ions-answered/

and more info about its Blu-Ray use-

http://www.twice.com/blog/reporters-...60fa3-87254233

And impressions on a Demo-

http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...mos-right-home

Last edited by Spizz; 06-28-2014 at 01:23 AM.
Spizz is online now  
post #56 of 399 Old 06-28-2014, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 9,227
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post
Yeah, as we've been discussing on other threads, it definitely answers some questions and opens up a whole new can of them. Notice, they still say it's object based and list a maximum of 24 +10 outputs, but don't mention how many objects it's capable of using. We know the details of commercial Atmos, but things are sketchy on the consumer side.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #57 of 399 Old 07-03-2014, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Spizz is online now  
post #58 of 399 Old 07-03-2014, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Hi everyone,


Does anyone know for these new models:


- how many inputs are HDMI 2.0 / HDCP 2.2 compatible?
- how many outputs are HDMI 2.0 / HDCP 2.2 compatible?
- What is the actual HDMI 2.0 bandwidth on the HDMI 2.0 outputs/inputs (ie are they limited HDMI 1.4 chipsets with 10Gb like on the current JVC and Sony 4K projectors which limit 4K60p to 420 8 bits or full HDMI 2.0 chipsets with 18Gb bandwidth like on the Panasonic 4K UHDTV)?


Not important for audio, but crucial for 4K video passthrough if you use the AVR to switch inputs.

[EDIT] Just read the article in French in the first post, all 3 out and 8 in are HDMI 2.0 and apparently they are full bandwidth as they go up to 444 10 bits in 60p (12 bits in 24p). That's very good news, these are the models I was waiting for, my next AVR is likely to be the X5200W or X7200W


8 entrées et 3 sorties HDMI 2.0: ARC, 3D, Deep Color, xvcolor, 1080/24p, CEC, 4K/60 Passthrough, Zone 2
Pure Color : UHD 4:4:4 et 12 bits en 24p (4:4:4 et 10 bits en 60 im/s)
Spizz likes this.

Last edited by Manni01; 07-03-2014 at 05:30 AM.
Manni01 is offline  
post #59 of 399 Old 07-03-2014, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 780 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
Hi everyone,


Does anyone know for these new models:


- how many inputs are HDMI 2.0 / HDCP 2.2 compatible?
- how many outputs are HDMI 2.0 / HDCP 2.2 compatible?
- What is the actual HDMI 2.0 bandwidth on the HDMI 2.0 outputs/inputs (ie are they limited HDMI 1.4 chipsets with 10Gb like on the current JVC and Sony 4K projectors which limit 4K60p to 420 8 bits or full HDMI 2.0 chipsets with 18Gb bandwidth like on the Panasonic 4K UHDTV)?


Not important for audio, but crucial for 4K video passthrough if you use the AVR to switch inputs.

[EDIT] Just read the article in French in the first post, all 3 out and 8 in are HDMI 2.0 and apparently they are full bandwidth as they go up to 444 10 bits in 60p (12 bits in 24p). That's very good news, these are the models I was waiting for, my next AVR is likely to be the X5200W or X7200W


8 entrées et 3 sorties HDMI 2.0: ARC, 3D, Deep Color, xvcolor, 1080/24p, CEC, 4K/60 Passthrough, Zone 2
Pure Color : UHD 4:4:4 et 12 bits en 24p (4:4:4 et 10 bits en 60 im/s)
None of the ports are HDCP 2.2 on any of the Denon, Pioneer, or Yamaha models this year. They opted for full HDMI 2.0 bandwidth vs Onkyo implementation of HDMI 2.0 with HDCP 2.2 at same bandwidth as 1.4a.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #60 of 399 Old 07-03-2014, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
None of the ports are HDCP 2.2 on any of the Denon, Pioneer, or Yamaha models this year. They opted for full HDMI 2.0 bandwidth vs Onkyo implementation of HDMI 2.0 with HDCP 2.2 at same bandwidth as 1.4a.
Thanks, if this is a fact then I have no idea what they are thinking as it's a huge backwards step, and there will be no AVR upgrade for me this year

Probably a good thing until all the Atmos and 4K dust settles...

I'd need a confirmation though because I thought HDCP 2.2 was part of the HDMI 2.0 specs. That's why the Sony 500/600ES is HDMI 2.0 with its HDMI 1.4 chipset with HDCP 2.2 and the new JVCs are not with the same HDMI 1.4 chipsets without HDCP 2.2

Last edited by Manni01; 07-03-2014 at 10:36 AM.
Manni01 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off