Buzz with coaxial digital cable plugged from Blu ray - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-08-2014, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdavis81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a funny symptom.
My receiver was nice but is dated. It's inputs are coaxial digital and optical.
I bought a new Sony BDPS 6200 Blu Ray to replace an old dead HTPC. The HTPC had been connected previously to the coaxial digital inputs.

When I hooked up the Blu Ray, I hear a faint buzzing through all speakers that is independent of volume. I was reading about grounding loops and all sorts of things so spent an hour tinkering. Changing the plugged outlet didn't work. My components (projector, cable box, blu ray and receiver) are all plugged in to the same power surge protector, so on same circuit.

I eventually figured out the sound occurs when the coaxial digital cable is hooked up. It happens with 2 different cords but one is an RCA cord. I have some old high end video component cords but forgot to try those. Curiously, the sound occurs on all inputs and does not vary with volume. As soon as I unplug it, the sound goes away, even when watching TV (a different input on receiver). The cable is hooked up via optical.

I thought the Blu Ray had an optical plug but it doesn't, so I can't try that. It only has HDMI and coax.

Not sure if I need to send it back to get one that has an optical?


Thanks for any thoughts.

These forums save so much time.

Scott
sdavis81 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-08-2014, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdavis81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry,
The receiver is Yamaha HTR 5790, about 8 years old.
sdavis81 is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-08-2014, 01:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 400
the HTR-5790 has 3 coaxial inputs. Try using one of the other coax inputs to see if the problem still exists.
Quote:
It happens with 2 different cords but one is an RCA cord. I have some old high end video component cords but forgot to try those

What does that mean? It would only work on a cable with RCA connectors on each end. What kind of cord is the other cable?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-08-2014, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,889
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Sounds like a ground loop.

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-08-2014, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
TCARCIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Massachussetts
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Try hooking some of your system up to different circuits if possible. If not then you can try one of these. http://www.amazon.com/Ebtech-Hum-Voltage-Filter/dp/B0002E4YI8/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t
TCARCIO is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-08-2014, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sdavis81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry, I meant one cable is a digital coax cable (I think), and the other is a plain RCA cable. Both fit the plugs easily. Both have same result.

I will try plugging the components into different circuits and see if that helps. Thanks for thought. And the link for Amazon.

It does seem like a ground loop. It was the same with everything I tried.

Thanks for ideas. I will report back.
sdavis81 is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-09-2014, 10:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
There are isolation transformers for audio, but not sure if they work with digital. I would be concerned that an isolation transformer that had any effect on frequency response could cause issues. There's an Ebtech device that isolates the ground somehow devices that use a grounded AC plug.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off