Marantz AV8802 13.2 XLR Pre/Pro **Official Thread** - Page 296 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12486Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8851 of 14248 Old 02-05-2016, 11:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,947
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
My report submitted to the General and Admiral.
Spoiler!
LOL I almost lost it! that's hilarious
Dave Vaughn likes this.
audiofan1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8852 of 14248 Old 02-05-2016, 11:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,947
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1964
Time to give DTS X neural a bone and upmix Tron Legacy
marcuslaw and johnnygrandis like this.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #8853 of 14248 Old 02-05-2016, 11:21 PM
Senior Member
 
joaquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
you are a champion !

thanks for providing the available options !

so just confirming, the format selection for auro3D, DTS and atmos is FH L& R and RH L&R ?
Confirmed for Atmos and DTS:X. I don't have Auro 3D.


Update: Marantz has the updated manual. According to the manual, FH and RH assignment works for all three formats.
alebonau likes this.

Last edited by joaquin; 02-06-2016 at 12:00 AM.
joaquin is offline  
 
post #8854 of 14248 Old 02-05-2016, 11:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 21,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2404 Post(s)
Liked: 1509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
My report submitted to the General and Admiral.

Spoiler!

Lol


Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is online now  
post #8855 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 01:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,947
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1964
Tron Legacy and DTS X neural will make one blush
audiofan1 is offline  
post #8856 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 02:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 21,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2404 Post(s)
Liked: 1509
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Tron Legacy and DTS X neural will make one blush

Have you ever watched it with the DSU?




Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is online now  
post #8857 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 03:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nalleh View Post
If it is the same as on Denon, you do it from the option button on the remote, not in input assign.
Thank you.
steady teddy is offline  
post #8858 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 04:48 AM
Rabid 3-D Aficionado
 
marcuslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 598
We watched The Seventh Son (3-D) last night, that features a DTS-MA 7.1 track, with Neural: X (used for the first time). I heard very little sound from the top speakers and when I did, it wasn't particularly noteworthy. Sorry, I don't know how else to describe it. I think we might start LOTR: Return of the King tonight. Hopefully, we'll notice more overhead sonic activity.
audiofan1 likes this.
marcuslaw is offline  
post #8859 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 21,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2404 Post(s)
Liked: 1509
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcuslaw View Post
We watched The Seventh Son (3-D) last night, that features a DTS-MA 7.1 track, with Neural: X (used for the first time). I heard very little sound from the top speakers and when I did, it wasn't particularly noteworthy. Sorry, I don't know how else to describe it. I think we might start LOTR: Return of the King tonight. Hopefully, we'll notice more overhead sonic activity.

I guess it's the movie but like yourself I'm the same I haven't heard anything that excites me yet. I guess we just have to wait and see.


Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is online now  
post #8860 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Same...Wabo where are you?? How is Auro 3D?


Frank
did this guy Wabo actually upgrade to get dtsX yet?
audiofan1 likes this.

Don
Anthem AVM-60,Sunfire Cinema Grand Signature Five-Channel Power Amplifier, Emotiva XPA-1l x2,Outlaw 5000. Rhythmik DIY 15inch x2, Plus, Magnapan 3.7i, Magnepan CC5,Magnepan MC1,JVC RS400, DIY 125" 2:35 Elite Screen cinegray 3d .
dlynch34 is offline  
post #8861 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Bonjour Bob,

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
I would love to read more comments on DTS Neural:X with stereo and multichannel music listening.
FWIW... my impressions (in French) :

http://www.homecinema-fr.com/forum/p...tml#p178791811

http://www.homecinema-fr.com/forum/p...tml#p178793035

Have a nice WE,

Hugo
kbarnes701 likes this.
Hugo S is offline  
post #8862 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 06:28 AM
Member
 
vp4lifehva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have watched American Ultra and Crimson Peak in DTS: X. To me, the audio track is more "object based" than Dolby Atmos. Atmos has a more dome-like sound field, whereas DTS: X is more dynamic and the surround & height speakers are more active.

I haven't tested Neural yet, I am sure that it is wonderful with the right movie.
vp4lifehva is online now  
post #8863 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,971
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6824 Post(s)
Liked: 5262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugo S View Post
Bonjour Bob,



FWIW... my impressions (in French) :

http://www.homecinema-fr.com/forum/p...tml#p178791811

http://www.homecinema-fr.com/forum/p...tml#p178793035

Have a nice WE,

Hugo
Merci bien, Hugo!

J'entends que nos 'petits oignons' deviendront bientot nos 'petits ognons' et que le circonflexe est mort Vive le circonflexe!

Last edited by kbarnes701; 02-06-2016 at 06:41 AM.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #8864 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australie occidentale
Posts: 21,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2404 Post(s)
Liked: 1509
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Merci bien, Hugo!

J'entends que nos 'petits oignons' deviendront bientot nos 'petits ognons' et que le circonflexe est mort Vive le circonflexe!
They lost the i in onion to simplify the language.





Frank

_________________________

Frank (直率的)(فرانك)(franc)(lantad)
Franin is online now  
post #8865 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Scott MS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
interesting scott....is there something you did on the marantz to get those speaker designations ?

I have 11 speakers connected, including 4 atmos ceiling speakers.
Scott MS is offline  
post #8866 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Scott MS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Did some brief listening of the DTS:X clips on the 2015 DTS Demo Disc...







uh, wow....

So good tracks on that disc. I particularly like the 1st one from Divergent and the water.
Scott MS is offline  
post #8867 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,971
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6824 Post(s)
Liked: 5262
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #8868 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,551
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2004 Post(s)
Liked: 1667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott MS View Post
So good tracks on that disc. I particularly like the 1st one from Divergent and the water.
I think the drummer Jo Jo Meyer mini documentary is the most stunning, but agree on Divergent as well
thrang is online now  
post #8869 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
JThiessen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
What do you mean? During the update, my display was blank because the 8802A was not passing it any signal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Exactly! it actually mentions it as well.


Frank
No, this was before I clicked on the start update button - as in right when I turned the unit on and it was showing the "you have an update to install" message. Huge amount of static and image jumping.
JThiessen is offline  
post #8870 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 09:21 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7733 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by JThiessen View Post
No, this was before I clicked on the start update button - as in right when I turned the unit on and it was showing the "you have an update to install" message. Huge amount of static and image jumping.
Since you admit this was before the update started, how can it have anything to do with the update? Not understanding what you are saying.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #8871 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Is it safe to save the configuration in Web Control using Firefox? I it doesn't work using IE.
steady teddy is offline  
post #8872 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 09:58 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7733 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post
Is it safe to save the configuration in Web Control using Firefox? I it doesn't work using IE.
Regardless of the browser you use, the format of the file is the same, so using Firfox is fine. Make sure you have the network set to "Off in standby" before running the network save.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #8873 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,947
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1889 Post(s)
Liked: 1964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post
Have you ever watched it with the DSU?




Frank
Didn't get around to it It was the first time with the 8802 as well. It will take years to upmix my legacy collection
audiofan1 is offline  
post #8874 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
mtdking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ann Arbor,mi
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
As a new owner of the 8802A . What would be the best way to connect my iMac to my 8802A? I have 1000's of CD's burned to my iMac and want to get the best sound quality I can get. Can the 8802A act as a USB DAC?
mtdking is online now  
post #8875 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Regardless of the browser you use, the format of the file is the same, so using Firfox is fine. Make sure you have the network set to "Off in standby" before running the network save.
You mean IP control? Could have sworn the info in web control interface said to leave setting at "Always On" while saving config.
steady teddy is offline  
post #8876 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 10:43 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7733 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post
You mean IP control? Could have sworn the info in web control interface said to leave setting at "Always On" while saving config.
Steady there, Teddy. I respectfully submit the following instructions for the network save: The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread.

Now on one hand, we have the in-line help suggestion to set the network to "Always On", which doesn't seem to be working for you, and my recommendation to set the network to "Off in Standby", which works for me 100% of the time, using IE. I rest my case.
steady teddy likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #8877 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Steady there, Teddy. I respectfully submit the following instructions for the network save: The **OFFICIAL** DENON AVR-4520CI thread.

Now on one hand, we have the in-line help suggestion to set the network to "Always On", which doesn't seem to be working for you, and my recommendation to set the network to "Off in Standby", which works for me 100% of the time, using IE. I rest my case.
Great, I will try that thx!
steady teddy is offline  
post #8878 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15369 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post
Is it safe to save the configuration in Web Control using Firefox? I it doesn't work using IE.
Yup. I've never gotten a successful SAVE using IE either, whereas get one every time using Chrome.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8879 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15369 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by steady teddy View Post
You mean IP control? Could have sworn the info in web control interface said to leave setting at "Always On" while saving config.
There are at least a couple of instances where it's best to ignore the Owner's manual/GUI and instead do the following:

1. When doing a SAVE, set IP Control to "Off in standby."
2. When running Audyssey, set the sub gain to 10 o'clock not 12 o'clock.
steady teddy likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8880 of 14248 Old 02-06-2016, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
steady teddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There are at least a couple of instances where it's best to ignore the Owner's manual/GUI and instead do the following:

1. When doing a SAVE, set IP Control to "Off in standby."
2. When running Audyssey, set the sub gain to 10 o'clock not 12 o'clock.
Thanks, but I wish I knew # 2 before running Audyssey a second time already less than 1 full day that I've had the 8802. I lost all of the settings because of the problem I had when trying to save my config.

Everything sounds good (so far) so I will leave it as for now.
steady teddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
marantz av8802

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off