Denon AVR 3801 wonky OSD - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-21-2014, 03:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
speaker dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Denon AVR 3801 wonky OSD

Hi all,

Connecting a new Sony 65" and BluRay player into my old system and I am having trouble with the on screen display. My ultimate goal is to assign the BluRay players digital audio to Optical 1 input. This is via a Denon AVR3801 receiver.

I've connected an old TV to the composite monitor output as OSD only works in composite or S video. I can get the Setup OSD up but as soon as I try to scroll up or down to any setup options the display goes wonky then mutes the video output.

I've tried just counting button presses but that isn't working and I don't think I am really scrolling through any options.

The manual implies that Opt 1 should be assigned to DVD by default, but it isn't, so I am stuck.

Any ideas?
speaker dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-21-2014, 03:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,885
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4418 Post(s)
Liked: 2374
Have you tried resetting the microprocessor per the instructions in the Owner's manual?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-21-2014, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
speaker dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, good suggestion.

The display is still wonky, but at least that did set the inputs back to default. Opt1 is on DVD and Dig Coax on CD, which is usable.

Still, now I can't set channel levels. Not much you can do without a display!

David
speaker dave is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-21-2014, 04:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,885
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4418 Post(s)
Liked: 2374
The benefit of a newer model with networking (in addition to better audio quality), is that in addition to the HDMI OSD on the TV, you can also use the OSD via a laptop or tablet as well as control the unit with a smartphone.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off