The Official Onkyo TX-NR535/636/737/838 Thread. - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 499 Old 08-06-2014, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Ejs71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all. I have a 525 that I don't really like that much. I wouldn't mind staying with onkyo and am looking at a 6-7-8 series. One of my biggest issues with the 525 is the display. Whenever I have it on, I like the decoded sound format to be displayed. (Like it does on most receivers) I had a 601 that I LOVED!!! And it would display Dolby D or Stereo or Dolby PL II whenever I was playing something. The 525 only displays the HDMI channel. I realize you can hit a button to display the format, by there's no way to default the reciever to display the sound format. Does anyone know if the 636 737 or 838 does this? If so, I may need to shop elsewhere.
Ejs71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 499 Old 08-06-2014, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by alainl View Post
I'm thinking of buying the 636 right away to replace my recently bricked Yamaha V-867 Is this the first report that we're seeing the same "hdmi issues" I've heard about that have plagued Onkyo receivers in the past?

Apart from a couple of bugs which can be easily fixed with a firmware it's a great receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
Hi all. I have a 525 that I don't really like that much. I wouldn't mind staying with onkyo and am looking at a 6-7-8 series. One of my biggest issues with the 525 is the display. Whenever I have it on, I like the decoded sound format to be displayed. (Like it does on most receivers) I had a 601 that I LOVED!!! And it would display Dolby D or Stereo or Dolby PL II whenever I was playing something. The 525 only displays the HDMI channel. I realize you can hit a button to display the format, by there's no way to default the reciever to display the sound format. Does anyone know if the 636 737 or 838 does this? If so, I may need to shop elsewhere.
Yea unfortunately it's the same with the 636 it only displays the input all the time and can show the details if you ask for it. I haven't looked to see if this can be changed.

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Onkyo TX-NR636 - Kef Q1,5,9C speakers and Rel 150 sub - Sennheiser HD650 Headphones

Last edited by WhiskeyOmega; 08-06-2014 at 03:47 PM.
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #63 of 499 Old 08-06-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
Does anyone know if the 636 737 or 838 does this?

I'm not sure if the 838 does, but my 818 does.
zeus33 is online now  
post #64 of 499 Old 08-07-2014, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
gimmepilotwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any ideas why I can't get my 838 to view my HTPC/TV correctly in its native resolution? When I set it to 1920x1080 32 bit 60hz, I only get a fullscreen size window.

I am using a Sony TV connected to a HTPC using Radeon 5450 and Vista Ultimate.

I was using Onkyo 805 and that was able to use the correct resolution.

I have tried adjusting the display settings on the PC, changing the HDMI inputs from PC to STB with no luck.



Edit: If I set my TV to say 'This is my main monitor, I get full resolution. When I set it back, I do not. Very weird. Any ideas?

Last edited by gimmepilotwings; 08-07-2014 at 11:42 AM.
gimmepilotwings is offline  
post #65 of 499 Old 08-07-2014, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmepilotwings View Post
Does anyone have any ideas why I can't get my 838 to view my HTPC/TV correctly in its native resolution? When I set it to 1920x1080 32 bit 60hz, I only get a fullscreen size window.

I am using a Sony TV connected to a HTPC using Radeon 5450 and Vista Ultimate.

I was using Onkyo 805 and that was able to use the correct resolution.

I have tried adjusting the display settings on the PC, changing the HDMI inputs from PC to STB with no luck.



Edit: If I set my TV to say 'This is my main monitor, I get full resolution. When I set it back, I do not. Very weird. Any ideas?
If you set the display properties to "Through" while you're on the PC input (I assume that's where you've connected it anyway), you shouldn't have any issues. You can set each input resolution individually. If that doesn't fix it, I'm going to say the issue is with the Sony, not the Onkyo.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #66 of 499 Old 08-11-2014, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
Hi all. I have a 525 that I don't really like that much. I wouldn't mind staying with onkyo and am looking at a 6-7-8 series. One of my biggest issues with the 525 is the display. Whenever I have it on, I like the decoded sound format to be displayed. (Like it does on most receivers) I had a 601 that I LOVED!!! And it would whenever I was playing something. The 525 only displays the HDMI channel. I realize you can hit a button to display the format, by there's no way to default the reciever to display the sound format. Does anyone know if the 636 737 or 838 does this? If so, I may need to shop elsewhere.
my 616 is the same way my 818 does display Dolby D or Stereo or Dolby PL II i will be getting my 737 tomorrow and i'll let you know. the only way i could see it on my 616 is I have to toggle through the red movie/tv button on my remote (but if you just hit the botton once it will display) hope that helps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	71LmH7Uz6rL._SL1500_.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	207657  

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers

Last edited by bargervais; 08-11-2014 at 10:01 AM.
bargervais is online now  
post #67 of 499 Old 08-11-2014, 03:20 PM
Member
 
huy30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered 838. I went with 838 over 636 just b/c more power watts of 838 over 636...Hope it will pay off for not buying separate amp. I will do bi-wiring for the front speakers. Will find out how everything is work out in few days.

Last edited by huy30; 08-11-2014 at 07:17 PM.
huy30 is offline  
post #68 of 499 Old 08-11-2014, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by huy30 View Post
Just ordered 838. I went with 838 over 636 just b/c more power watts of 838 over 636...Hope it will pay off for not buying separate amp. I will do bi-amp for the front speakers. Will find out how everything is work out in few days.
Let us know how you like it I have the 818 and I love it I just ordered the 737 to replace my 616 in the den. I was going to get the 838 to replace my 616 but it's too big height wise to fit. I will replace the 818 most likely the end of next year to get an Atmos receiver that will at least do 5.2.4 hopefully 7.2.4 and that would take a TX-NR 1030 or TX-NR 3030. But I'll have to start saving now. Back to telling you I'm getting the TX-NR 737 to try out Atmos when the firmware is released in September.

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #69 of 499 Old 08-11-2014, 07:45 PM
Member
 
huy30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know the wireless network spec for 838? I could not find it anywhere. Thanks.


Just learn enough info about Atmos. Sound cool but the most 838 can do is 5.2.2, right? You want at least 5.2.4.


Cant wait to have partial surround sound again...did not buy surround speakers..so just have 2 front and center for now.
huy30 is offline  
post #70 of 499 Old 08-11-2014, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Ejs71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
my 616 is the same way my 818 does display Dolby D or Stereo or Dolby PL II i will be getting my 737 tomorrow and i'll let you know. the only way i could see it on my 616 is I have to toggle through the red movie/tv button on my remote (but if you just hit the botton once it will display) hope that helps
I just heard from Onkyo.
From the 2014 Line, only the 1030 & 3030 show the decoded output
From the 2013 Line the 828 & Up.

MY GEAR:

-Pioneer Elite SC-61 7.2 Channel Class D3 Amplification AVR*
-Oppo BDP-93 3D Blu ray Player
-Monitor Audio GX50 Piano Ebony Bookshelf Speakers (pair)
-Monitor Audio CT265-IDC Trimless In-Ceiling Speakers (pair)
-Monitor Audio GXW15, 15” C-CAM bass driver 650W D2Audio®* DSP controlled...
Ejs71 is offline  
post #71 of 499 Old 08-11-2014, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by huy30 View Post
Anyone know the wireless network spec for 838? I could not find it anywhere. Thanks.


Just learn enough info about Atmos. Sound cool but the most 838 can do is 5.2.2, right? You want at least 5.2.4.


Cant wait to have partial surround sound again...did not buy surround speakers..so just have 2 front and center for now.
Unfortunately the 838 can only do 5.2.2 that's why I chose the 737 it's the same way 5.2.2 and its a little less money. FOR MY den that will have plenty of power for that room, being it's such a small room and that should fill the room nicely. In order to get 5.2.4 you will need to upgrade to at least the TX-NR 1030

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #72 of 499 Old 08-11-2014, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I should have my new TX-NR 737 sitting on my door step when I get off work tomorrow. I'll unbox it and set it up tomorrow night it should be quite simple as I have banana plugs on my 616 I'll pull it out clean any dust that's under it for a year and a half now. These electronic stuff are dust magnets I'm always seeing an accumulation of dust and you know what dust can do to electronics if too much dust gets inside the AVR it doesn't cool as it should.
So much about dust sorry I got a little side tracked...

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #73 of 499 Old 08-12-2014, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I just got my new TX-NR 737 spent about an hour unboxing pulling out my 616 and swapping receivers. I cleaned the shelf of all the dust can't believe the amount of dust accumulates in just a year and a half. I'll mess around with it tonight and let you know what I think if you are replacing an onkyo things are very similar, not a big learning curve.

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #74 of 499 Old 08-13-2014, 01:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,014
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1750 Post(s)
Liked: 1694
Quote:
Originally Posted by huy30 View Post
Anyone know the wireless network spec for 838? I could not find it anywhere. Thanks.


Just learn enough info about Atmos. Sound cool but the most 838 can do is 5.2.2, right? You want at least 5.2.4.


Cant wait to have partial surround sound again...did not buy surround speakers..so just have 2 front and center for now.
A 5.2.2 setup with ceiling speakers directly above the main listening position should still provide a good experience, or likely not much less of one than 5.2.4.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #75 of 499 Old 08-13-2014, 02:40 AM
Member
 
pettern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The spec says the 636 has no optical inputs. Is this really the case? It's weird how Onkyo downgrades the receivers. i.e. the 616 has 8 HDMI inputs, and comparable models has been downgraded since then it seems.
pettern is offline  
post #76 of 499 Old 08-13-2014, 07:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The 636 has one optical input. I replaced a Yamaha 765(that got fried by a power surge from lightning). The 636 has much better sound than the 765 and is much easier to setup and the setup is much more user friendly. The 636 remote may not be the best but the 765 remote was way too crowded with too many small buttons. I am very happy with the TX-NR636 over the Yamaha 765. I HAVE A Samsung hdtv and a Samsung BR player with HDMI CEC and they work very well thru the 636. They did not work thru the Yamaha 765. The audio switching on the 636 is easier than on the 765 also.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish HOPPER with Sling
Onkyo TX-NR636 with Polk 7.1 speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #77 of 499 Old 08-13-2014, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
A 5.2.2 setup with ceiling speakers directly above the main listening position should still provide a good experience, or likely not much less of one than 5.2.4.
i just got the TX-NR 737 the reason being it's a first generation of an atmos AVR when the firware is released. I got it instead of the 636 was because of THX for one and i didn't want to get the 838 because of the cost difference and still only be able to do 5.2.2. On the 838 my understanding is that you can't use an external amp to add 2 more channels like I'm doing with my 818 is that correct... love my 818.

Thanks for your imput right now i have my highs about 1/3 the distance toward my MLP from the front mains should i move them back to be above my surrounds firing down from the ceiling to my MLP.

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #78 of 499 Old 08-14-2014, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Reasonably positive review of TX-NR838 (4s & 5s rating) - say they didn't notice a big AccuEq effect. It looks like it puts out a decent amount of power for a mid-range AVR.

http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...38-av-receiver
TweakerInWA likes this.
DoDaLeCa is online now  
post #79 of 499 Old 08-14-2014, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoDaLeCa View Post
Reasonably positive review of TX-NR838 (4s & 5s rating) - say they didn't notice a big AccuEq effect. It looks like it puts out a decent amount of power for a mid-range AVR.

http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...38-av-receiver
Love my 838 thus far....

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #80 of 499 Old 08-14-2014, 08:19 PM
Member
 
BostonHxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
Love my 838 thus far....

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
Had mine for 2 weeks now and loving it. Came from a Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH which I had and enjoyed for years.

I have an Emotiva XPA-3 powering the front 3. I cannot wait to hear Armos at home. Anyone know when the update is expected?
BostonHxC is offline  
post #81 of 499 Old 08-15-2014, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sometime in September, which probably means the 30th.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish HOPPER with Sling
Onkyo TX-NR636 with Polk 7.1 speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #82 of 499 Old 08-15-2014, 11:49 AM
Member
 
BostonHxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryez View Post
Sometime in September, which probably means the 30th.
Thanks Jerryez
BostonHxC is offline  
post #83 of 499 Old 08-15-2014, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryez View Post
Sometime in September, which probably means the 30th.
I guess I'll have to wait
I'm looking forward to atmos in my den.

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #84 of 499 Old 08-16-2014, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
I guess I'll have to wait
I'm looking forward to atmos in my den.
You don't have to wait...It will be available via firmware upgrade. Hardware is already in the box :thumbup:

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #85 of 499 Old 08-16-2014, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Ejs71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Isn't there a way to change the name of an Input. For example: GAME. I want to call it Apple TV. I thought there was a way to do this.

MY GEAR:

-Pioneer Elite SC-61 7.2 Channel Class D3 Amplification AVR*
-Oppo BDP-93 3D Blu ray Player
-Monitor Audio GX50 Piano Ebony Bookshelf Speakers (pair)
-Monitor Audio CT265-IDC Trimless In-Ceiling Speakers (pair)
-Monitor Audio GXW15, 15” C-CAM bass driver 650W D2Audio®* DSP controlled...
Ejs71 is offline  
post #86 of 499 Old 08-16-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
Isn't there a way to change the name of an Input. For example: GAME. I want to call it Apple TV. I thought there was a way to do this.
Hi Ejs71, look under Source Setup menu.
JChin is offline  
post #87 of 499 Old 08-16-2014, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
Isn't there a way to change the name of an Input. For example: GAME. I want to call it Apple TV. I thought there was a way to do this.
Go to set up then to 4. Source Setup 3. Name Edit and then you can name it what ever you want or like up to I think 9 characters. you can change that name and name it what ever you like..

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers

Last edited by bargervais; 08-17-2014 at 07:13 PM.
bargervais is online now  
post #88 of 499 Old 08-16-2014, 06:15 PM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone A/B the tx-nr636 and strdn1050?
frocco is offline  
post #89 of 499 Old 08-16-2014, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
You don't have to wait...It will be available via firmware upgrade. Hardware is already in the box :thumbup:

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
What I meant to say I'll have to wait for the firmware update I already have the TX-NR 737 all hooked up and been playing with it. I should have said I'll have to wait for the firmware.

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers
bargervais is online now  
post #90 of 499 Old 08-16-2014, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 128
I just got a TX-NR 737 it has Great sound and I've been playing with it maybe a week now, I'm replacing a TX-NR 616 that I've had for a year and a half. I replaced it because I wanted to be ready for atmos and didn't want to spend a lot on a first generation atmos AVR. I was a little concerned that audyssey is being replaced with Accu-EQ. But I read that onkyo and Dolby worked together to develop it.
THE Set up was very easy and after room calibration sound is great, one thing I did use was a db meter to get to subs at 75db which helped a lot. The reason I used a meter, when you first set up with Accu-EQ you get a test tone for the sub but no indication what the db is, got them to 75 and proceeded with the rest of the set up very easy. One thing I did was place the hockey puck Mic on my tripod and placed it in my main listening position I know that it only getting reading from only one position, I'm so use to audyssey XT932 . when I first ran the Accu-EQ I didn't use a db meter which was a mistake on my part because I was just guessing at what volume to set the subs when it was all done I didn't like it was too bombastic. But then I redid it a couple days later using a meter and now it sounds absolutely great IMO.
The only issue I have right now is, which is odd when the receiver is in stand by, the picture passes to the TV from my directv genie box, but no sound tried everything but can't get it to work with my TV. I have directv genie > receiver > Samsung PN 51F 5500
Which is odd is it works fine when I watch a blu-Ray through the receiver from my Panasonic blu-ray player when it's in stand by. It must be some kind of handshake between directv genie box and the receiver, I think it maybe that the genie is not cec ??? don't know just a guess. I'll keep digging to see if I can figure it out I don't think it's the receiver.
This receiver has a great sound and I can't wait till atmos

My main setup
PN60E8000 / Directv genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray Onkyo TX-NR 1030 7.2.4 /Onkyo M-5010 Amplifier for top rear. Bic Acoustech speakers, Bic F12 subs
MY 10' X 15' DEN
PN51F5500 / Directv Genie / Panasonic 3D blu-ray / Onkyo TX-NR 737 5.2.2 Atmos top front Ceiling Speakers

Last edited by bargervais; 08-18-2014 at 07:51 PM.
bargervais is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off