AccuEQ Vs Audyssey - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Selden Ball
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 06-25-2014, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
AccuEQ Vs Audyssey

I still cant find any technical comparisons between the two, has there been anything published?
RapalloAV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 06-28-2014, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
TomScrut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only thing I have been able to find is this:

http://www.uk.onkyo.com/downloads/2/...tasheet_EN.pdf

If you read about the AccuEQ it says it doesn't down sample from 96k, which Audyssey does.
TomScrut is online now  
post #3 of 25 Old 06-29-2014, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomScrut View Post
The only thing I have been able to find is this:

http://www.uk.onkyo.com/downloads/2/...tasheet_EN.pdf

If you read about the AccuEQ it says it doesn't down sample from 96k, which Audyssey does.
What does XT32 sample down to do you know?
RapalloAV is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 06-29-2014, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
TomScrut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
48 I think
TomScrut is online now  
post #5 of 25 Old 06-29-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by RapalloAV View Post
What does XT32 sample down to do you know?
Depends upon which DSP is used..
Due to limited resources 48kHz is typically the lowest..

Just my $0.05...
M Code is online now  
post #6 of 25 Old 06-29-2014, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
TomScrut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought it was generally 48 on most if not all audyssey (xt32 at least, maybe the ones with less filters downsample less). I had a marantz 8801 and I am pretty certain it did 48k
TomScrut is online now  
post #7 of 25 Old 07-16-2014, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 146
This is a great and valid thread as it would appear the only item in question with the new onkyos and integras is indeed the proprietary room eq- I won't comment on hdmi reliability.

Else it really looks like they have some very nicely equipped models- even running an input with HDCP 2.2 for that one 4K source 1% may have in the next 3 years.

Anyone know more on AccuEQ?

Grazie.

James
mastermaybe is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old Today, 07:12 AM
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #9 of 25 Old Today, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

Thanks for the link.

Confirmation of what we already knew, summed up: "The device is basically good - lots of amenities, good feel - AccuEQ unfortunately it is not."

The AccuEQ does practically nothing compared to XT32.
zeus33 is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old Today, 11:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 1219
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
Thanks for the link.

Confirmation of what we already knew, summed up: "The device is basically good - lots of amenities, good feel - AccuEQ unfortunately it is not."

The AccuEQ does practically nothing compared to XT32.
Yes, AccuEQ is dire. Great pity for Onkyo fans. I am having to switch to Denon when I go Atmos this fall. Not that Denon are bad or anything, but it's a new learning curve when you've been an Onkyo guy, as I have, for years. But no way am I trading XT32 for AccuEQ.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #11 of 25 Old Today, 11:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jdskycaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
This really stinks, having fewer options is always a bad thing for enthusiasts.
JD
jdskycaster is online now  
post #12 of 25 Old Today, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MUDCAT45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Yes, AccuEQ is dire. Great pity for Onkyo fans. I am having to switch to Denon when I go Atmos this fall. Not that Denon are bad or anything, but it's a new learning curve when you've been an Onkyo guy, as I have, for years. But no way am I trading XT32 for AccuEQ.

Onkyo probably had to cut costs to pay for repairs on all those defective units produced over the years.
MUDCAT45 is online now  
post #13 of 25 Old Today, 12:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 1219
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudcat45 View Post
onkyo probably had to cut costs to pay for repairs on all those defective units produced over the years.
Pavlov alert!!!!!!

Did you not know that Onkyo dropped Audyssey in favor of AccuEQ because of limitations with their CPU? It could process Atmos or Audyssey but not both. AccuEQ demands less processing capabilitiy (probably because it doesn't really do anything). Denon used a more elegant and sensible solution: they kept XT32 AND Atmos but doubled the number of CPUs.
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #14 of 25 Old Today, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 325
But that's still a cost-driven decision. Adding the necessary DSP horsepower would have forced up the price of their Atmos-capable equipment. Denon decided to take that hit. Onkyo decided not to.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #15 of 25 Old Today, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rnatalli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Major mistake to dump Audyssey IMO.
rnatalli is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old Today, 12:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 1219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
But that's still a cost-driven decision. Adding the necessary DSP horsepower would have forced up the price of their Atmos-capable equipment. Denon decided to take that hit. Onkyo decided not to.
Indeed. But what do you think it has to do with past warranty claims?
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #17 of 25 Old Today, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 169
It seems like accuEQ does the same thing my Sony receiver does. Sets gain and distance with basically no EQ. Just the basics. I guess it's better than nothing.
KidHorn is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old Today, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Plasma Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If one went with the Onkyo, could an external device such as the Anti-Mode be used to at least calibrate the sub?
Plasma Bill is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old Today, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Indeed. But what do you think it has to do with past warranty claims?
Honoring warranties is an expense (granted, one of many) which has to be recouped by increasing profit and minimizing new expenses. Apparently they had to redesign part of the HDMI board to improve heat dissipation for the affected chips. That also probably would have distracted some of their design engineers who might have been working on their new designs.Anyhow, I'm just making a generic cost argument.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #20 of 25 Old Today, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma Bill View Post
If one went with the Onkyo, could an external device such as the Anti-Mode be used to at least calibrate the sub?
Yes. Some people even use them to augment Audyssey.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #21 of 25 Old Today, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
JohnDean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I'd be willing to bet that as long as people speak with their dollars, it will be back.
JohnDean is online now  
post #22 of 25 Old Today, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Plasma Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Yes. Some people even use them to augment Audyssey.
Thanks, Selden. I wasn't sure if there were any restrictions within the DSP programming for Atmos that would not allow an external device to be used in the chain.
Plasma Bill is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old Today, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma Bill View Post
Thanks, Selden. I wasn't sure if there were any restrictions within the DSP programming for Atmos that would not allow an external device to be used in the chain.
My understanding is that Atmos sends its audio to the appropriate speaker channels (depending on where it believes the speakers are located), then the room correction software (or external hardware) applies the corrections as required to optimize the frequency (and other parameters) of the speakers to the room. In principle, at least, neither step needs to know what the other is doing.
Plasma Bill likes this.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #24 of 25 Old Today, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 18,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Denon decided to take that hit. Onkyo decided not to.
Which allowed Onkyo to have a mid-$500-ish receiver with Atmos. Denon can't come close to that price.

Sanjay
sdurani is online now  
post #25 of 25 Old Today, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
TomScrut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree but the 1030 which is what I would be looking for if I was going to buy an Onkyo, needs to have better than mediocre RC. Although I do like the fact that the fronts can be bypassed (which would suit me) I hear they have to be bypassed which is pants IMO
TomScrut is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off