Will the Denon X1000 meet my needs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-02-2014, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfsaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the Denon X1000 meet my needs?

I really don't need much. I would like WIFI control & Pandora. I have 3 HDMI devices to connect. 5.1 speakers.

I do have a separate room with 2 speakers in it though (I just bought this house). I'm guessing they used it to listen to music. Can this receiver handle a "separate" set of speakers?

Here it is for reference: Denon X1000

I may get a 4k TV in the future too...I'm guessing I'll need, at least, the X2000 then instead?
wfsaxton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-03-2014, 12:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
The X2000 is a 7 channel amp so it will give you 5.1 + zone 2 stereo. The X1000 would need an additional amp.
This pioneer will do the same for $50 less. http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-11.../dp/B00BKXCKRC
Both good picks.
kikkenit2 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-03-2014, 01:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfsaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
The X2000 is a 7 channel amp so it will give you 5.1 + zone 2 stereo. The X1000 would need an additional amp.
This pioneer will do the same for $50 less. http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-11.../dp/B00BKXCKRC
Both good picks.
Thanks for the info. I'll have to stick with the X2000 because its 1.5" shallower than the Pioneer and I have really shallow built-in cabinets.

Amazon says that this item is discontinued. Should I be worried about support for it? The newer version supports 4k passthrough, but its also $700 so I don't think I necessarily need that...

Last edited by wfsaxton; 07-03-2014 at 01:23 AM.
wfsaxton is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-03-2014, 01:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
The models are discontinued every year that new models are released. You'll want at least 3-4" clearance above the unit as well as open front and back otherwise consider adding fans.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-03-2014, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfsaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The models are discontinued every year that new models are released. You'll want at least 3-4" clearance above the unit as well as open front and back otherwise consider adding fans.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
Yeah, we have an exhaust fan @ the top of the cabinet.
wfsaxton is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-07-2014, 09:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfsaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, well this sucks. I went ahead and ordered this...The AVR-X2000 does NOT have WIFI control. Only hard-wired ethernet...ugh.

The reason I wanted WIFI was so I could control my receiver/tv etc with an iPad. Without WIFI I either need to buy a wireless bridge for the receiver or an infrared adapter for the iPad.

Anyone have any experience with this?

Last edited by wfsaxton; 07-07-2014 at 09:56 PM.
wfsaxton is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-08-2014, 12:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 417
you dont need a wireless bridge, just get this which is much simpler. I use it with my denon 1613 and can control the receiver with my Android phone from anywhere in the house.

hooks up in less than 2 minutes.

http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...pr_product_top

comes with two ethernet cables also. one adapter connects to your router and the other to your Denon receiver.

Frys has it on sale for $29 until Thursday.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-08-2014, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfsaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
you dont need a wireless bridge, just get this which is much simpler.

http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...pr_product_top
I'm currently already using one of these for my home networking setup so I can't, unfortunately, use another.
wfsaxton is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-08-2014, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
huggybear102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is possible to use more than one powerline device on a network. I used two separate setups, one for a hard wired computer and the other for a satellite receiver.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
huggybear102 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-08-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,008
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfsaxton View Post
Okay, well this sucks. I went ahead and ordered this...The AVR-X2000 does NOT have WIFI control. Only hard-wired ethernet...ugh.
Can you return it? The new models coming out have added both WiFi and Bluetooth. And the replacement for the X1000, the S1100W, and its non-X series counterpart (S700W) have been upgraded to 7 channels so you don't even need an external amp for Zone 2. If you call up JD at AVScience sales I'm sure he can get you a good deal on the S1100W which looks like it has everything you need including WiFi.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-08-2014, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wfsaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Can you return it? The new models coming out have added both WiFi and Bluetooth. And the replacement for the X1000, the S1100W, and its non-X series counterpart (S700W) have been upgraded to 7 channels so you don't even need an external amp for Zone 2. If you call up JD at AVScience sales I'm sure he can get you a good deal on the S1100W which looks like it has everything you need including WiFi.
JD (offline) suggested I just go with the wireless bridge solution. The X2000 already has 2 zones, so I'm good with that...plus I actually have a wireless router laying around the house so, if I can turn that into a bridge, I might be good to go!

Thanks.
wfsaxton is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-08-2014, 05:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfsaxton View Post
I'm currently already using one of these for my home networking setup so I can't, unfortunately, use another.
I think you can use 6 - 8 powerline devices. I know adding a second one is not a issue.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors
Gear in this thread - x1000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off