New Receiver set-up question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-06-2014, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
New Receiver set-up question

Just purchased a Yamaha 3030. I am running 9.1 with the AVR and zone 2 and 3 with my 5 channel B&K AV 5000 series II amp. Should I use the B&K to run the front 2 or 3 as it is probably more robust (125w @8ohm...conservatively)? And if I do, will the 3030 power the other 2 zones with its on board amps? Also that little triangular little YPAO accessory that comes with the mike is a different size screw mount compared to the mike. Is it defective or amI missing something. I just used the mike on my tripod to calibrate until I find out.

Sorry, I know that part of these questions should be addressed on the Yamaha page, but it appears as though they are all on a 4th of July holiday

Thanks
audio.hobby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-06-2014, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio.hobby View Post
Just purchased a Yamaha 3030. I am running 9.1 with the AVR and zone 2 and 3 with my 5 channel B&K AV 5000 series II amp. Should I use the B&K to run the front 2 or 3 as it is probably more robust (125w @8ohm...conservatively)? And if I do, will the 3030 power the other 2 zones with its on board amps? Also that little triangular little YPAO accessory that comes with the mike is a different size screw mount compared to the mike. Is it defective or amI missing something. I just used the mike on my tripod to calibrate until I find out.

Sorry, I know that part of these questions should be addressed on the Yamaha page, but it appears as though they are all on a 4th of July holiday

Thanks
Your thoughts and advive would be greatly appreciated!
audio.hobby is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-06-2014, 04:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,784
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I have seen the manuals, and they explain in detail how the amp assignments work. If you read that carefully it might answer some of your questions. I have also resorted to experimentation to understand how the assignments work.

I can't help you with the YPAO accessory. It does seem odd if it's not a standard tripod mount threading/screw

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-06-2014, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post
I have seen the manuals, and they explain in detail how the amp assignments work. If you read that carefully it might answer some of your questions. I have also resorted to experimentation to understand how the assignments work.

I can't help you with the YPAO accessory. It does seem odd if it's not a standard tripod mount threading/screw
Would you use the B&K for powering the front 3 or 2 if you had a choice and let the Yamaha power the other zones?
audio.hobby is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off