YPAO question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-08-2014, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Iron_Marshal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YPAO question

When preparing to run YPAO should I set the receiver to 0.0db before running, or does it not matter as the adjustments will be made of off whatever volume setting is run at the moment, and that setting becomes the reference level?
Iron_Marshal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-08-2014, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
it does it for you, all you need to do is run it
Goatse is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-08-2014, 12:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 107
You don't need a specific volume setting. I always change all the speakers to small. Never owned a speaker that sounded better when large, even floorstander speakers I have owned benefitted from being crossover over at the subwoofer

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-08-2014, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 45
YPAO doesn't care what the volume setting is. It does have the tendency to set your speakers to large, which in most cases is incorrect (assuming you have a sub). Let it do it's thing, then go back into settings and change your speaker size to small.

Last edited by crn3371; 07-08-2014 at 01:30 PM.
crn3371 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-08-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Before running YPAO...
Be sure to set the level control on your Subwoofer to about 50% rotation....

Just my $0.05...
M Code is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-09-2014, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Iron_Marshal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. The reason I ask is I've done what was recommended.....let it do its thing, set sub volume to 50% and turn crossover all the way up as instructed. It does set my rear surrounds in my 7.1 system to large, which I then fix in the menu. After having done all of that, my surround sound effect is nothing to write home about. I put in the scene from Master & Commander where the two ships are fighting and the volume on the surrounds is so low as to be barely noticable. I've watched several movies and not once have I had that sense of immersion. I'm trying to figure out why.
Iron_Marshal is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-09-2014, 08:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Use the test tone feature. All speakers should sound at roughly the same volume

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-10-2014, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Iron_Marshal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used the test tone feature and calibrated with an spl, but when I watched either Master and Commander or Mr and Mrs Smith, the surround effect was hardly noticeable. Doesn't seem to be a huge improvement over 3.1 to be honest.
Iron_Marshal is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-11-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron_Marshal View Post
I used the test tone feature and calibrated with an spl, but when I watched either Master and Commander or Mr and Mrs Smith, the surround effect was hardly noticeable. Doesn't seem to be a huge improvement over 3.1 to be honest.
Odd

I have no problems hearing surround info on that movie, I just tested it. The scene where Mr. Smith has the rocket launcher and uses it has surround sound for sure. I don't know if your expectations are wrong or if something else is wrong.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off