Active sub won't switch from stand-by to active - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-09-2014, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Active sub won't switch from stand-by to active

Hi,


I have a Pioneer s-21w at the moment, been using it in combination with a Sony STR-DH540 for a while now without any issues.
However, today the sub wouldn't go from stand-by to active when there was a signal (wii U for example).


What could be the issue? Is there something wrong with the sub or could it be the receiver?


If it's the sub: I had my eye on the Pioneer s-51w, would it be an upgrade?


Thanks!
Freditor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-09-2014, 04:36 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,615
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Lower the gain knob on the sub to about 9 o'clock and then run the Sony speaker setup again if it's got one.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-09-2014 at 04:52 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-09-2014, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Lower the gain knob on the sub to about 9 o'clock and then run MCACC again.
Should have mentioned I'm a bit of a noob :-)


Gain knob? Is this the volume knob?
Also, isn't MCACC exclusive to Pioneer receivers? I have a Sony.
Freditor is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-09-2014, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no, the other knob. HZ
hotrod351 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-09-2014, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod351 View Post
no, the other knob. HZ
It doesn't have a knob other than the volume knob
Freditor is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-09-2014, 04:53 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,615
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freditor View Post
Should have mentioned I'm a bit of a noob :-)


Gain knob? Is this the volume knob?
Also, isn't MCACC exclusive to Pioneer receivers? I have a Sony.
Yes, the volume knob on the sub. And yes, confused your AVR with the Pioneer sub, so if the Sony has some kind of speaker setup program, then run it again after lowering the volume on the sub.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-09-2014, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry about that figured it had a high cut control like my yamaha. i know that most receivers also have that control in the receiver itself. but i think thats what the other person is talking about. turn the gain down, therefore turning the high cut down to a lower HZ. but if your doesnt have this then i guess you would have to do this in your receiver. better yet call pioneer.
hotrod351 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-10-2014, 01:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for all the replies!

Did all of the aforementioned but alas... with no success.

Could the sub be busted? As for the other question: would the s-51w be an upgrade?

Here's a comparison:

http://www.pioneer.eu/nl/products/42...05&__P31=48335
Freditor is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-10-2014, 02:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,615
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Also make sure that the main FL/FR speakers are set to at least SMALL/80Hz. If the sub isn't powering on at all (even for DD/DTS 5.1 audio), then there may be a problem with it.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-10-2014, 03:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Also make sure that the main FL/FR speakers are set to at least SMALL/80Hz. If the sub isn't powering on at all (even for DD/DTS 5.1 audio), then there may be a problem with it.
It woudl seem weird that it had something to do with the settings, since I've been using it for about half a year now and I haven't changed anything.

It might only be for linear PCM that it's not powering on, have to check it.
Freditor is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-10-2014, 05:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Odd... did the auto-calibration again and now it seems to work! Oh well... all the better ;-)


Anyone know what could have caused this?
Not really necessary anymore but interesting for later: would the Pioneer s-51w be a good upgrade?


Thanks for the help everyone!
Freditor is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-10-2014, 09:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,615
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked: 1523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freditor View Post
Odd... did the auto-calibration again and now it seems to work! Oh well... all the better ;-)


Anyone know what could have caused this?
Not really necessary anymore but interesting for later: would the Pioneer s-51w be a good upgrade?


Thanks for the help everyone!
Not really. You'd want to go to a 300W-400W 10" or 12" sub for an upgrade.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off