Datastat LS10 User Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 07-09-2014, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Datastat LS10 User Thread

Hopefully all Datasat LS10 users could join this thread to share your set up; observations; tips; challenges and suggestions to Datasat manufacturer on future improvements via software updates etc.

Last edited by Gideon; 07-09-2014 at 08:59 PM.
Gideon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 07-09-2014, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First observation:
Datasat RS20i provides SPL levels for each channel whilst LS10 does not indicate it in the manual. Interestingly, RS20i recommends L/R/C at 85 dB; SW/LS/RS/RSL/RSR at 82 dB. The Volume control at -15dB and running the pink noise on each channel, one by one.


Unfortunately LS10 manual does not indicate any recommended SPL setting for each channel.


My setting:
L/R/C/SW1/SW2 at 75dB; LS/RS/RSL/RSR at 72 dB.


My guess for RS20i to suggest lowering the surrounds by 3dB is to compensate for the increase in 3dB when both side and rear surrounds are activated at the same time. Experience wise, indeed this suggested setting blend in very neatly without creating higher surround sound as compared to the front speakers. Other users may want to share your experience through experimenting.


For Datatsat Manufacturer:
Please provide update to the LS10 Manual and provide recommendation for the SPL setting for each channel. By the way, setting it at 85dB is well too loud. In most recommendation, 75 dB is more manageable.

Last edited by Gideon; 07-09-2014 at 09:00 PM.
Gideon is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 07-09-2014, 09:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 153
noah katz is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 07-10-2014, 05:30 AM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Great to know that we have an LS10 owner - really interested in your thoughts on the unit and how it compared to what you may have had previously.
stephenbr is online now  
post #5 of 17 Old 07-11-2014, 03:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post
Great to know that we have an LS10 owner - really interested in your thoughts on the unit and how it compared to what you may have had previously.
Replaced my MC 8B which was connected to the HTPC with analogue inputs via HDAV Deluxe sound card.


Now with LS10, the HTPC is connected via HDMI and for movie wise, it offers much superior surround with much more detail dynamism.
Music wise by playing CD via the SACD player via 2 channel analogue as well as coaxial, the stereo channels sound better than MC 8B but not for the surround modes of LS10 as compared to Logic7 as presently LS10 is producing strange static noise in the front speakers. Believe there is a lingering bug somewhere.


So, movie LS10 better than MC 8B
Music MC 8B is better in Logic7 at the moment due to the static noise of LS10.
Gideon is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 07-15-2014, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Any updates Gideon (eg have you resolved the static problem)?
stephenbr is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 07-16-2014, 02:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post
Any updates Gideon (eg have you resolved the static problem)?
Datasat is working on it and still waiting for the upgrade software.
Gideon is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 07-16-2014, 02:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope that LS10 users found this thread and share their experience.


Other observations:
1) How to calibrate the parametric EQ for each of the channel? The manual is too simplistic and even the dealer has yet to learn the skill to do it correctly.


2) Explain height gain in the Dolby PLIIz mode? What is the most suitable height gain to be used?


3) Dynamic Range Control
What does ‘On/TrueHD-Auto’ means? Does it meanthat whenever TrueHD is played, this ‘On/TrueHD-Auto’ will be automatically setto ‘ON’ and if the media does not contain TrueHD, then ‘On/TrueHD-Auto’ wouldbe automatically set to ‘OFF’?


4) High Pass/Low Pass Filter
a) When to set it to 12dB/octave as compared to 24dB/octave?
b) Does it need to be the same value as compared tothe subwoofers?


Anyone?
Gideon is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 07-16-2014, 03:01 AM
Member
 
Billybobjimbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is your unit Auro 3D ready? Or did this aspect not interest you?

21inch hitachi
Billybobjimbob is online now  
post #10 of 17 Old 07-16-2014, 03:18 AM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Good to hear Datasat are onto your problem - they are great at addressing such issues.

In respect to your questions I can assist on some:

1. No experience using PEQ so hopefully someone else can chime in

2. See above - still to set up heights myself so haven't played with any such parameters

3. DRC will be applied to DD soundtracks or otherwise if a TrueHD codec is detected - I personally don't need DRC so set it to off

4. Really up to you, your speakers etc as to which crossover slope to use. The higher the number the more 'severe' the slope. Just means you attenuate the frequencies at the crossover frequency more quicker if you use a 24db slope. I suggest you try both, listen to the results and use the one you like best. Values can be different for each speaker pair in the RS20i so assume it is the same for the LS10.
stephenbr is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 07-16-2014, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billybobjimbob View Post
Is your unit Auro 3D ready? Or did this aspect not interest you?
It is optional and presently waiting for Datasat to solve the static noise challenge.
Gideon is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 07-16-2014, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenbr View Post
Good to hear Datasat are onto your problem - they are great at addressing such issues.

In respect to your questions I can assist on some:

1. No experience using PEQ so hopefully someone else can chime in

2. See above - still to set up heights myself so haven't played with any such parameters

3. DRC will be applied to DD soundtracks or otherwise if a TrueHD codec is detected - I personally don't need DRC so set it to off

4. Really up to you, your speakers etc as to which crossover slope to use. The higher the number the more 'severe' the slope. Just means you attenuate the frequencies at the crossover frequency more quicker if you use a 24db slope. I suggest you try both, listen to the results and use the one you like best. Values can be different for each speaker pair in the RS20i so assume it is the same for the LS10.
I am using 3 front M&K S150; total 4 side and rear M&K SS150; 1 M&K 150 sub & another 1 M&K 350 sub. As for the subs, it is recommended to use 24 dB/octave slope pairing with non-THX sound processor but nothing mention for the rest of the M&K speakers. So, at the moment, just set to 24 dB/octave slope for all speakers for balance stage I supposed.
Gideon is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 07-17-2014, 06:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,833
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Are there any theoretical advantages of Auro 3-D upmixing vs DTS NEO X?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 07-17-2014, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post
Are there any theoretical advantages of Auro 3-D upmixing vs DTS NEO X?
Whilst you lose the 'wides' speaker option with Auro you gain the option of a centre height, side heights and VoG speaker options. By the comments of those that have heard Auro it is a significantly improved and more enveloping experience to Neo X with these additional speakers.
stephenbr is online now  
post #15 of 17 Old 07-18-2014, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird Observation
Unstable VolumeSetting
On 18 July, at about10.30pm, while watching The Monument Men movie with the volume set at 28 dB,suddenly became much louder while the movie was 4/5 of the movie, and it wasfound that the volume indicated at the LS10 at 25 dB. The ethernet was notconnected and it seemed that the volume was somehow raised by itself.
Any LS10 or even RS20i have similar weird experience?
Gideon is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 07-18-2014, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have never had the RS20i change volume by itself.
stephenbr is online now  
post #17 of 17 Old 09-01-2014, 05:07 AM
Senior Member
 
stephenbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Any update Gideon on how the LS10 is going?
stephenbr is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off