How to Control Volume on Headphones while using speakers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How to Control Volume on Headphones while using speakers?

Hello, I am a drummer who uses speakers with a receiver. I am looking to get the Audio Technica M50 Headphones, but I need to be able to control the volume. I use the speakers so the audience can hear the music. I can't have the headphones as loud as the speakers, because it will blow my head off! I would get whatever I need to get to achieve this.
LudwigZIldjian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 05:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,958
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Normally plugging in headphones cuts off the speakers. That makes the situation more difficult.

I was trying to find some sort of box would which do what you need, but could not find one sorry

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post
Normally plugging in headphones cuts off the speakers. That makes the situation more difficult.

I was trying to find some sort of box would which do what you need, but could not find one sorry
would this work? I could plug it into my laptop and plug in the receiver and headphones.

http://www.seismicaudiospeakers.com/...JwgaAt9z8P8HAQ
LudwigZIldjian is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LudwigZIldjian View Post
would this work? I could plug it into my laptop and plug in the receiver and headphones.

http://www.seismicaudiospeakers.com/...JwgaAt9z8P8HAQ
What about this volume control adapter? http://www.koss.com/en/products/acce...2MIaAish8P8HAQ
LudwigZIldjian is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LudwigZIldjian View Post
What about this volume control adapter? http://www.koss.com/en/products/acce...2MIaAish8P8HAQ
Or this more preferable Audio Technica 3.5mm to usb with volume control?
http://www.audio-technica.com/cms/ac...3d7/index.html
LudwigZIldjian is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-16-2014, 07:38 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,007
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 192
You should probably explain your setup a little more so people can make a better suggestion. I would suggest asking someone that plays live music, how they run their monitors.

You probably need something like this, but I don't know if that has the ability to adjust the levels independently.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Focusrit...53-i2162367.gc

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
headphones , receivers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off