Yamaha rx-v2095 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-17-2014, 07:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yamaha rx-v2095

My friend gave me a old yamaha receiver, model is RX-V2095. im connecting it with 2 rca cables and at the end it has a female type plug where i plug in my 3.5mm aux cord to my phone. i got it to work but it sounds really bad because the sound effect is on. I turn it off and then my speakers stop working??? i really don't know whats going on, is it the rca cable im using? should i be using just a straight rca cable 3.5mm splitter? Any help is appreciated. I attached my rca cable im using and what my current receiver settings are on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140717_221010.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	198.6 KB
ID:	167353   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140717_221021.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	92.5 KB
ID:	167361   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140717_222418.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	142.6 KB
ID:	167369  
nty69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-17-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Where are the speakers connected? You failed to show that part. I notice there's a Main A and B plus Front Effects Speaker terminals. You should be using Main A. My guess is you have the speakers connected incorrectly.

Most of those DSP's are useless. Set the mode to stereo

Set the Zone 2/Rec Out to Source/Remote

Use the big knob to select the CD input

Afro GT

Last edited by afrogt; 07-17-2014 at 08:43 PM.
afrogt is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-17-2014, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Where are the speakers connected? You failed to show that part. I notice there's a Main A and B plus Front Effects Speaker terminals. You should be using Main A. My guess is you have the speakers connected incorrectly.

Most of those DSP's are useless. Set the mode to stereo

Set the Zone 2/Rec Out to Source/Remote

Use the big knob to select the CD input
Thanks for your response, i could not find where to set it to stereo, but everything else was set on the receiver as you stated.
i uploaded a picture where the speakers are connected, (only have one connected at the moment because i wouldn't want to waste time on trying something that would not work). I also uploaded a picture of the (Effect off) that time talking about, when its pressed the speakers just don't connect anymore.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140717_234538.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	290.8 KB
ID:	167569   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140717_234521.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	194.3 KB
ID:	167577  
nty69 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-17-2014, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ok so i changed the connection from front to center and it sounds a lot better but once again when i turn the effect off it does not work, i also changed the input from cd to phono, sounds a little better to but, when other speakers are connected to those other terminals it sounds like crap for those speakers. Not to smart in these types of systems but maybe is it the impedance of the speaker?
nty69 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off