Did my subwoofer blow my reciever? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Did my subwoofer blow my reciever?

Hello, newbie here. Hoping I can get a diagnosis on my system that does not work anymore.

I use a small Kama Bay Class D amplifier (which I like a lot).

I recently hooked up Audioengine P4 speakers which sound great, but do not have much low end.

So, I bought a second-hand Cambridge Soundworks III passive subwoofer, which I thought would add just enough bass. BUT, after I hooked that up to test, it barely made any noise at all and was very clipped.

Then I disconnected the sub and connected my other speakers back and now they sound very clipped and do not put out much sound at all.

My guess is that the sub blew my amp, but I don't know how to confirm that theory.
If I hook up headphones to the receiver/amp it sounds fine.
I am afraid to hook up any other speakers to the amp in case the fried amp can blow the speakers.

Any ideas on how I can diagnose my amp? Is it possible for the sub to blow the amp?

Thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 10:48 PM

Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I don't know too much about electronics but I think an oscilloscope might be the only way to know for sure. It can measure the output signal to see if it's truly clipped
post #3 of 9 Old 07-19-2014, 11:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Was thinking about this.

Try hooking up only one speaker at a time. Try swapping speakers from left to right. The idea is to try to see if the problem follows a specific speaker, or is isolated to one amp channel

You could download some test tones, such as a frequency sweep and play that back to see if that would give you a better idea of the issue. I would have thought that a blown amp channel would not work at all though.