Marantz 8002 & 7005 HD audio help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gene c353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: S.F Bay Area
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Marantz 8002 & 7005 HD audio help!

I have these two receivers, the 8002 paired with the 8002 BR player and the 7005 with a 7006 BR player. I can't get either receiver to display TrueHD or Master Audio in the display window. They both say "Multi-Ch" and their PCM symbols are lit up as though the BR players are set to output PCM, which they aren't. The 7006 is set to "Auto" and the 8002 is set to HDMI Normal.

I have a ton of experience with this stuff but I'm pulling my hair out. What in the %$@& am I missing???

As always, thanks a ton.

Gene
gene c353 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 02:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,607
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Set the BD Audio Mode (8002: p. 23 Owner's manual/UD7006: p. 7 Owner's manual) to "HD Audio Output"

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	26
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	172042  

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-20-2014 at 02:15 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gene c353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: S.F Bay Area
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I have the 8002's currently connected and it was/is set to "HD Audio Output". any other idea's?. I don't have much hair left.
gene c353 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 03:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,607
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Are you using an HDMI cable for audio? Is the HD audio track on the Blu Ray DVD selected?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gene c353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: S.F Bay Area
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Yes and yes. Should have mentioned that straight-off.
gene c353 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 04:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,607
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Is the firmware on all devices current? Try cycling the BD Audio mode to "Mix Audio Output" to see if there is any change. Then cycle back.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gene c353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: S.F Bay Area
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The disc I was using said "5.1 Uncompressed" in it's menu but not TrueHD or DTS-MA (I think this is the little silly/stupid thing I was looking for). Maybe they didn't want to pay the licensing fee? Anyway, I put a different disc (DTS-MA) in the 8002 setup and while Multi was still on the display the PCM was gone and Digital was lit as well as a small DTS logo. Funny thing, when I switched the audio on-the-fly from LPCM to DTS-MA with the BR's remote the full DTS-Master Audio would appear on the receivers display, but just for a second. I'll swap out the 8002's for the 7005's later and see what happens. I do need to check the firmware, just so I know where I'm at with it. I'm still not 100% positive I'm getting HD audio but at least the PCM has disappeared. I was perfectly happy with LPCM as both BR players have excellent audio sections.

All this is because I want to sell both setups and as you know, everyone wants to see DTS Master Audio on the receivers display or they'll probably walk away from it.

Thanks for the help.

Last edited by gene c353; 07-20-2014 at 06:19 PM.
gene c353 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gene c353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: S.F Bay Area
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
O.K. JD. You had it right, at least on the 7005 system . The BR player was set to "Mix" and not "HD Audio". That setting is on the main Audio menu on the 8002 but you have to dig a little deeper to find it on the 7006.

I still need to do some more work on the 8002. I still think somethings wrong there.

Thanks again.

Gene
gene c353 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-20-2014, 08:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,607
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
Keep in mind that DD and DTS are "compressed" audio tracks that get uncompressed to PCM prior to being played. So if the audio on the disc is already "uncompressed" (ie. PCM), then all you'll see on the AVR is "Mult CH IN"; however, it will still be the same quality as if the AVR had uncompressed it. So bottom line is to make sure you use a disc with either a DD or DTS audio track if you want to see that on the AVR's front panel.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off