Harman Kardon AVR 3000 no sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-21-2014, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Harman Kardon AVR 3000 no sound

Hi,

I have a Harman Kardon AVR 3000 receiver, which i have had for about 12 years now. It has been off for the last 5 years and i turned it back on a couple of weeks ago. After which everything seemed to be fine, it produced sound and everything. (even though the maximum amount of sound coming out of the speakers seemed less then before).

But since yesterday it stopped producing sound. The display etc still works and reacts / remote also still works. If i plug in head phones they also dont work. I tried several inputs, but still no sound.

The strange thing is it does produce sound if i move the volume up or down, for about half a second and then it stops again. This is true for headphones and speakers.


I opened it up to dust it out and i did a processor reset both of which didn't change anything. Do you guys know anything else i could try ?


Regards,
PyroMathic
PyroMathic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-21-2014, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Sounds like U may have a speaker wire short...
Any little wire strand shorted either @ the AVR's rear panel and/or @ the loudspeaker can cause the AVR to shutdown.
Try it with no loudspeakers connected..
1. AVR still shuts down, then internal AVR issue
2. AVR doesn't shut down, then check speaker wires and/or loudspeakers

Just my $0.03...
M Code is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-21-2014, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply.

Well it doesn't shut down, green light etc still on display works, just no sound unless when i change the volume, then it has sound for a short period of time (less then a second).

Also tried with no speakers attached, only head phones and that also gives the same result.

So it would seem its a software issue ? Since why else would it only produce sound while the volume is changing ?

Regards,
Pyro
PyroMathic is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off