Receiver that allows Audio / Video Switching - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 07-24-2014, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Receiver that allows Audio / Video Switching

I have a Denon A200, but from the looks of it (and my lack of research), cannot simply switch the audio source while keeping the video source the same. Is there a receiver, or roundabout way of doing this? Basically, I have my TV and cable connected to my AVR via HDMI, and have my airport express connected via component. I would simply like to switch between audio sources and play music once in a while without switching the video input as well. I can return the A200, and don't mind buying a new receiver as long as its under ~$275. Any help is appreciated.
turk1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 07-24-2014, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone?
turk1 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 07-24-2014, 07:13 PM
Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turk1 View Post
Anyone?


Not sure on your denon, but on my HK I could go into source set up where it asks for both video and audio input for each source(normal would be say HDMI 1 for audio AND video), keep my video for that source at HDMI 1 and select another HDMI 2,3 etc or analog whatever, for the audio. I haven't tried it but I'm sure it would work on mine.

70" Sharp

Harman Kardon 3700

Klipsch Rb-51 II's

Klipsch Rc-52 II

Klipsch SS-1's

PSW12

Love me some Dave Matthews Band, Dave and Tim, David Gray, or Ray Lamontagne
dmb12679 is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 07-24-2014, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
gene c353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: S.F Bay Area
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I don't think you can switch the audio while holding on to the video but you can set the inputs up any which way you want. You could connect the audio from one source (CD player?) and the video from another (SAT box?) to an un-used input (DVR?). Then you could select the DVR input on the receiver and listen to a cd while watching Sports Center (do you really need to listen to those guys?). Just a thought.
gene c353 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've tried various configurations of what ya'll have mentioned. For ex. I was hoping I could set my DVD channel to do something of the sort. Where I would have the video input as my cable/satellite and the music source as something else. I called Denon, and was told that unfortunately, what I am trying to do is not possible via HDMI, and can only be done via component cables.

Really thought that something like this would be an extremely common feature / something people would use often.
turk1 is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As the above poster said, my old hk 350 would do that. I would watch a baseball game (hdmi cable from cable/sat) but would listen to a CD or DVD. But, as I recall (it's been awhile), the audio could not be thru an hdmi cable. It was thru analog. So, the video was using hdmi source/cable, but the audio was using analog wires.

Unfortunately, my hk has just bit the dust after 5 years.:-[
gimpy is online now  
post #7 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 790
i do this all the time with my onkyo 809. i routinely watch video source via hdmi from my sat receiver and listed to music via 2 channel analog input. my older denon 1611 can do this as well.

i am not sure if there is any receiver that will allow you to watch one hdmi source and listen to another hdmi source at the same time though.

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Why you wouldn't want to join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
forum
67jason is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Agree - I thought that would work as well, but for some reason is proving harder than it should be. I currently have a component cable running from my airport express to the 'DVD' input on the receiver. I get the audio to work, but when I attempt to select cable/satellite as video source I do not get a picture.
turk1 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 09:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I thought some receivers allow independent switching of audio. Perhaps look at the latest Denon models as I sort of remember they did, but not sure.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Some receivers have that feature for mixing and matching HDMI video and audio sources. But, it's not common.
BIslander is online now  
post #11 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67jason View Post
i do this all the time with my onkyo 809. i routinely watch video source via hdmi from my sat receiver and listed to music via 2 channel analog input. my older denon 1611 can do this as well.

i am not sure if there is any receiver that will allow you to watch one hdmi source and listen to another hdmi source at the same time though.
Looks like the feature i'd like simply isn't available with Denon. Any idea if all Onkyo's have the mentioned feature?

Last edited by turk1; 07-25-2014 at 01:27 PM.
turk1 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Watch TV and listen to music ? The Denon X-2000 does it Click image for larger version

Name:	Denon X2000 pg96.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	68.1 KB
ID:	180282

From the Denon 2013 "E" and "X" series thread
The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

Last edited by Gandu; 07-25-2014 at 02:01 PM.
Gandu is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try watching the video first, then changing the audio, if you already haven't. See if that does anything. Otherwise,,,??
gimpy is online now  
post #14 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandu View Post
Watch TV and listen to music ? The Denon X-2000 does it Attachment 180282

From the Denon 2013 "E" and "X" series thread
The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
Hm, looks like I would have to go airport express -> AVR via cable / network.

And I have tried changing audio source while watching TV and it unfortunately hasn't worked.
turk1 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpy View Post
Try watching the video first, then changing the audio, if you already haven't. See if that does anything. Otherwise,,,??
This is backwards. All denon receivers work the same way. Put the receiver on an analog/network/tuner/usb audio input and then press the option button.
Video select will be on the list. Can't change audio from a digital video input. Doesn't look like the A200 has this feature.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #16 of 21 Old 07-25-2014, 07:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by turk1 View Post
I have a Denon A200, but from the looks of it (and my lack of research), cannot simply switch the audio source while keeping the video source the same. Is there a receiver, or roundabout way of doing this? Basically, I have my TV and cable connected to my AVR via HDMI, and have my airport express connected via component. I would simply like to switch between audio sources and play music once in a while without switching the video input as well. I can return the A200, and don't mind buying a new receiver as long as its under ~$275. Any help is appreciated.
Two simple options:

1. Run HDMI directly from Cable Box to TV. Use optical from cable box to receiver for audio. You'll still get Dolby Digital 5.1 thru optical just like you would with HDMI. Then you can switch to whatever input you want on the AVR if you don't want to listen to cable box audio.

2. Run component video from cable box to TV. Then you can switch to any input you want on receiver since the video is going directly from cable box to TV.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #17 of 21 Old 07-27-2014, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Two simple options:

1. Run HDMI directly from Cable Box to TV. Use optical from cable box to receiver for audio. You'll still get Dolby Digital 5.1 thru optical just like you would with HDMI. Then you can switch to whatever input you want on the AVR if you don't want to listen to cable box audio.

2. Run component video from cable box to TV. Then you can switch to any input you want on receiver since the video is going directly from cable box to TV.
Tried that and unfortunately doesn't work.
turk1 is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 07-29-2014, 08:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
How could that not work? Any basic receiver should let you do that because you're running video straight from the cable box to TV.

All you're doing is using the receiver for audio.

I'm not familiar with the A200 but I can do it with my 3 Denon's and two of them the AVR 591 and 1613 are very entry level.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #19 of 21 Old 07-29-2014, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Gandu is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 07-30-2014, 12:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 1485
If what you have is actually the E200 (rather than A200), the Video Select feature only works with the "composite" video inputs. Only the E300 and higher models allow selection of an HDMI video source.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 07-30-2014, 05:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Correct - I had the E200. Am planning on buying the X1000, which I am told will allow switching. Many thanks
turk1 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off