How do I make the best of my setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 07-24-2014, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I make the best of my setup

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the world of HT, however I do come from a background of competing in sound quality in car audio, so I do have a fairly good working knowledge of sound and acoustics.

I just got some new gear, and am wondering how to make the most out of it, and get everything working together happily. My current setup is as follows:

Yamaha RX-A2020
Samsung smart TV (Costco, bought for around $770 a couple months ago, don't remember model number)
PS4
Xbox 360
Cable box
HTPC x2 (Both running 460GTX Graphics cards)

This question is mainly coming from the fact that I am unable to get my HTPC to work with my receiver and get surround sound. It seems to get 2.1 just fine, the movies are encoded in full surround, and I have yet to be able to get full surround from the HTPC, works with PS4 games and bluray movies just fine.

My main question is, what can I do to get everything working better together. I have set the receiver to use the ARC so when I turn my TV off the receiver goes off, but it doesn't happen vice versa. Anything I can do or tricks I can do to get everything working together better or things I may not have thought of. I know, kind of all over the place, but I appreciate any help you guys can provide.

Kyle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-24-2014, 02:21 PM

Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I can try to help.

Are you streaming movies to your AVR via DLNA or hdmi? In windows there is a sound setup page in which you select whether you want sound to be outputted in 2.1 or multichannel. That would be the first thing to try.