Different inputs to same source? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-27-2014, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
drchrisdvm2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Different inputs to same source?

Noob warning. Sorry. I've looked at the forum and Google for a while and have not come up with the answer, so I thought I'd actually ask people that know a lot more than I do.

I am currently using a Denon 1911 and connecting the cable set top box, Blu-ray player, Computer, and Xbox 360 by HDMI. I am also trying to connect my Wii by component video cable.

Not sure if it can be done, as all assignable inputs are taken up. Is there a way to "share" a source without using an AV switcher? I'm not against getting a new receiver, but functionally, I use the video game systems very infrequently and could just plug in the Wii into the same source as the STB and pull the receiver out and disconnect the STB when I wanted to play the game system....but looking for something a little less cumbersome.

Any direction is greatly appreciated.

Also, if not possible, for just a basic receiver connecting these inputs to the HDTV and 7.1 surround, any current recommendations for a new receiver? I've always been a Denon fan (from my parents...That's what they had and I've never used anything else).

Chris
drchrisdvm2009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-27-2014, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Hi drchrisdvm2009, connect Wii audio to DOCK and assign the Component Video as DOCK (then rename it Wii).
JChin is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-28-2014, 12:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Or even the CD input. I believe you can also assign the component video input there. I can on my AVR 591 which is the same model year as the 1911.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-29-2014, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
drchrisdvm2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much! I didn't know I could do that. That's why I turn to the AVS forums. :-)

Chris
drchrisdvm2009 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off