Monoprice 2-Channel 300-watt amplifier - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Monoprice 2-Channel 300-watt amplifier

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

sulakd's Avatar sulakd
09:20 AM Liked: 14
post #1 of 9
07-30-2014 | Posts: 130
Joined: Jul 2008
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

No reviews yet, so I think this is a new product. Has anyone seen/heard this amp? Seems like a good price, consistent with Monoprice's other offerings generally. Description from Monoprice website:

"2 Channel Amplifier - 300 Watts - NO LOGO

Get large amounts of incredibly clean power for a stereo speaker zone in a multi-zone home audio system using this 2-Channel, 300-Watt amplifier from Monoprice!
This stereo amplifier puts out 150-watts per channel into 8-ohms with only 0.2% Total Harmonic Distortion plus Noise (THD+N)! When bridged into mono mode, it can deliver up to 470-watts into an 8-ohm load, with the same 0.2% THD+N, making it well suited for high power applications. It also boasts a -103dB signal-to-noise (S/N) ratio at the full rated power into a 4-ohm load. It also features > 65db crosstalk at the rated power into an 8-ohm load.
The amplifier has two stereo inputs with automatic switching, both of which support either line or speaker level input. The secondary input is intended for normal use with the primary input off. Then, whenever the primary input is active, it will override the secondary input. Additionally, it features a line level secondary output, which passes the secondary signal on to another amplifier or line level device.
The amplifier supports a 12 volt DC trigger for turning the amplifier on/off and a 12 volt DC trigger output to control other devices, such as a projection screen or curtains.
The volume control on the front panel is a volume attenuator more than a direct volume control. When setting up the amplifier, you set the maximum volume level using controls on the back panel, then you use the front panel attenuator to control how much of the preset volume is used"
Sam1000's Avatar Sam1000
09:30 AM Liked: 11
post #2 of 9
07-30-2014 | Posts: 487
Joined: Nov 2005
Class D or A/B? what's the dynamic range? Specs on their site are incomplete.
M Code's Avatar M Code
12:43 PM Liked: 133
post #3 of 9
07-30-2014 | Posts: 9,960
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam1000 View Post
Class D or A/B? what's the dynamic range? Specs on their site are incomplete.
It is Class A-B..
My question is what is the power bandwidth
I see frequency response but this is taken @ 1W..

Interesting features but for installer applications it is lacking some things such as an EIA rack adapters....
Also what is the warranty?

Just my $0.03...
uncola's Avatar uncola
01:42 PM Liked: 13
post #4 of 9
07-30-2014 | Posts: 326
Joined: Feb 2004
interesting.. price looks good.. maybe a rebadge of a jaycar amp or something
SoundChex's Avatar SoundChex
01:53 PM Liked: 110
post #5 of 9
07-30-2014 | Posts: 2,739
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncola View Post
interesting.. price looks good.. maybe a rebadge of a jaycar amp or something
The rear apron looks a lot like an AudioSource AMP300 (or AMP310).
_
MichaelJHuman's Avatar MichaelJHuman
02:19 PM Liked: 118
post #6 of 9
07-30-2014 | Posts: 18,955
Joined: Nov 2006
The input sensing was a feature on some Audio Source amps, so SoundChex may be onto something
67jason's Avatar 67jason
11:25 PM Liked: 794
post #7 of 9
07-30-2014 | Posts: 2,906
Joined: Jan 2011
comparing pics and specs, this monoprice amp sure seems like a clone of an audio source amp 300, which is a clone of an OSD Audio amp.
chalugadp's Avatar chalugadp
01:35 AM Liked: 1162
post #8 of 9
07-31-2014 | Posts: 5,586
Joined: Jan 2013
At that price I'd get inuke3000dsp. 7 times the power and DSP.
sulakd's Avatar sulakd
09:05 AM Liked: 14
post #9 of 9
07-31-2014 | Posts: 130
Joined: Jul 2008
Yup, looks like you guys nailed it. AudioSource AMP300. Thanks!
Tags: amplifier , Monoprice
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3