Pioneer SC-05 and using the TV's sound? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-03-2014, 12:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jarablue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Pioneer SC-05 and using the TV's sound?

Hey guys. I have an old SC-05 receiver and am currently speakerless. I need to use the TV's sound for now which is a Sharp 60 inch LC-60E78UN. I've reset my TV and receiver to factory defaults just to start fresh. I have my set top box (FIOS) going into HDMI IN 1 and my TV is on HDMI OUT. I power up the TV and get video no problem but the sound is muted.

I've tried messing around with the receiver but for the life of me I can't get any audio. The receiver should be able to pass HDMI audio from the set top box to the TV correct? Should I be controlling the audio via the receiver, set top box or the TV? This is all going over HDMI.

Thanks for the help.
jarablue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-03-2014, 04:00 AM
Newbie
 
jajohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use your TV remote to control the output of the audio coming out of your TV,your sc-05 is useless without speakers.
jajohn is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-03-2014, 04:03 AM
Newbie
 
jajohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarablue View Post
Hey guys. I have an old SC-05 receiver and am currently speakerless. I need to use the TV's sound for now which is a Sharp 60 inch LC-60E78UN. I've reset my TV and receiver to factory defaults just to start fresh. I have my set top box (FIOS) going into HDMI IN 1 and my TV is on HDMI OUT. I power up the TV and get video no problem but the sound is muted.

I've tried messing around with the receiver but for the life of me I can't get any audio. The receiver should be able to pass HDMI audio from the set top box to the TV correct? Should I be controlling the audio via the receiver, set top box or the TV? This is all going over HDMI.

Thanks for the help.
Do me a favor and see if you receive a "server down" message when you turn on the internet radio on your sc-05..
jajohn is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 08-03-2014, 05:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,005
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarablue View Post
I've tried messing around with the receiver but for the life of me I can't get any audio. The receiver should be able to pass HDMI audio from the set top box to the TV correct?
Hi jarablue, you trying to pass audio through with the receiver on. If so go under Audio Parameter and set HDMI Audio to "Through".
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-03-2014, 05:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,005
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jajohn View Post
your sc-05 is useless without speakers.
Hi jajohn, agree.
JChin is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-03-2014, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jarablue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah I figured that. Set it to pass through and it's working fine now.

And yes I get server down. Seems it hasn't been working for me for the past 2 months. Haven't used it before that for over year.

Thanks for the help.
jarablue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off