RCA TV + Yamaha AVR via Coaxial Digital Cable - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By afrogt
  • 1 Post By jdsmoothie
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2014, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
RCA TV + Yamaha AVR via Coaxial Digital Cable

Hi guys, I'm going a bit crazy here, it's my first post as this is first time I cant find solution myself.. even though it seems so trivial.. so please help, throw in any ideas.

Anyways: I have RCA LCD TV which I'm simply trying to connect to my Yamaha receiver with coaxial digital cable. I've set Digital Audio on my TV to "RAW" (as I read that PCM might not work), receiver is set to DVD (as this is the only coaxial input) and it doesn't work. Receiver and speakers are working, as I could listen to some music from laptop with simple jack connection. Here are the specs:

TV - RCA LED55C55R120Q; manual: http://download.oncorpus.com/UM%20LED55C55R120Q%20.pdf

AVR - Yamaha HTR-5940; manual: http://download.yamaha.com/search/pr...uct_id=1060689

cable - Dynex Coaxial Digital Audio.

Thanks!
voychyeh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-07-2014, 10:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,808
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 466
The digital inputs are assignable. The coax input in not fixed on the DVD input. It could be assigned to one of 6 different inputs.

Check pages 81 and 82 of your Yamaha manual. Also set the Input Mode to AUTO. It might be on analog right now which would explain why you aren't getting any sound.

PCM and RAW should both work. PCM is only 2 channel stereo whereas raw could be Dolby Digital 5.1.
voychyeh likes this.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
Old 08-08-2014, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for trying to help.
I see there:
For COAXIAL INPUT jack 3 COAXIAL IN (3)
Choices: (3) CD, MD/CD-R...

I 've selected that yesterday, also put all on auto.

I there a way to reset the receiver to factory defaults?
voychyeh is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 08:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,366
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2179
Should be listed in your Owner's manual.
voychyeh likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-08-2014, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm an ass, I just needed to restore factory defaults, and set input again, you were right.

Thanks afrogt and jdsmoothie for helping.
voychyeh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
5940 , coaxial , Rca , Yamaha
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off