2Likes
  • 1 Post By audio4life
  • 1 Post By M Code

post #1 of 11 Old 08-08-2014, 11:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Onkyo Reciever keeps blowing.... HELP!!!

Hello everyone,
Im new to this forum and this is my first time posting. I have been lurking for a while and learned a lot of great stuff. My situation is that I recently moved into a house that’s pre-wired for several zones. I have my living room (5.1) bathroom, bedroom, and patio. I have used Onkyo’s trade in program because my last receiver fried on me and I am currently working with all the equipment I have listed. My problem is that I am currently on my THIRD receiver from this trade in program as the last two went into protection mode after stinking up my living room like burnt circuits and of course fried. I have had a local professional come out and set everything up and still the receiver has blown. I do have a little knowledge in regards to electrical and home audio, as well as tools for troubleshooting such as a multimeter. As you’ll notice I do have 2 different brands of volume controls, this is something new because it was determined last time that one was bad apparently. None the less there seems to be a weak link somewhere. Although Onkyo has been understanding enough to keep sending me units I believe its time to start looking elsewhere for the weak link. In the mean time I plan I hooking up my 5.1 in the living room and holding off on zone 2 until I get your opinions. I included my components list as well as hyperlinks to all the details. Some info can be found on these sites either in specs or simply in just the descriptions.
Thank you for all your help and insight on this as its driving me crazy!

1 - ONKYO TX-NR626 7.2-Ch Network A/V Receiver
1 - CE TECH Model # 5535 Speaker Volume Control
2 - SOUND APPEAL 100W In-wall Stereo Speaker Volume Control with Impedance Matching