Crown XLS Amp vs a used high-dollar 30 AMP beast? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 08-10-2014, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Question Crown XLS Amp vs a used high-dollar 30 AMP beast?

I am going to be driving JTR 215 Full-Range speakers upfront (L-C-R). The speakers are 95 db sensitive/2000 watt RMS capable.

I have a read a lot of posts on the following amps
  • QSC PL 380
  • Crest Pro 9200
  • Lab Gruupen FP series(real no clone)
  • Crown XTI/IT series
Crown XLS

Q1) For 70 % movies and 30% music, can the highly efficient Crown XLS 1500/2500 drive the 215's to +10 dB over reference in a 30 x 20 ft room, or do I need to step up to one of the 20-30 amp power draw beast AMPS to get there?

I would most likely go used on the beast amps, due to cost.

If for my application the Crown XLS 2500 gets me +10 dB over reference with clear sound and the Crest Pro 9200 or LG 10000q gets me to +18 dB over reference...then the beast amps are not required...

Q2) Is there really magical sauce on the genuine LG FP series amps or they are equal with the other 30 amp beasts from 20-20 KHz?

Thanks in Advance-
Vince
vince32837 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 08-10-2014, 07:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,833
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Q1) Use this - http://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html

Q2) No clue what you mean

Can't fathom trying to hit peaks of 115 dB, but 300 watts (XLS 1500 @ 8 ohms) is borderline according to the calculator even with those very efficient speakers. Why insist on +10 dB over reference?

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 08-10-2014, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post
Q1) Use this - http://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html

Q2) No clue what you mean

Can't fathom trying to hit peaks of 115 dB, but 300 watts (XLS 1500 @ 8 ohms) is borderline according to the calculator even with those very efficient speakers. Why insist on +10 dB over reference?

Thanks for the calculator!
What I'm really after in Q2 is- will the Crown XLS 1500/2500 drive the 4-Ohm JTR's with authority, all the movie soundtrack peaks etc...will they be at the bottom of their gas tank?

if yes, then I will step up to the 20 TO 30 amp toaster oven beast amps, 1800-2500 watts in 4 ohms per channel measured...Crown XLS power ratings are peak true RMS is half that.

I thought ref level was 75-85 dB?

If the crowns due the job for me, I can go all new XLS amps for a 9.2 setup and get a warranty.

or

go used LG FP 10000q for LCR and Crown XLS 1500 for the 6 surrounds. (higher $$ route)

V
vince32837 is online now  
post #4 of 17 Old 08-10-2014, 09:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,833
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Peak THX reference level is 105 dB per channel. Average is roughly 20 dB less or 85 dB

I never listen at reference level volume setting

If you just want peak reference level of 105 dB peak per channel any of the option you gave should manage with those speakers, especially as they are 4 ohm and those amps all put out a lot of 4 ohm power

Note that the LFE channel peak is 115 dB, which is why you probably want a competent sub if reference level is a goal

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 12:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,843
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked: 955
The crown 1500 would power them clean and crazy loud. Your ears would give before the amp or speakers.
chalugadp is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 03:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1161
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post
Thanks for the calculator!
What I'm really after in Q2 is- will the Crown XLS 1500/2500 drive the 4-Ohm JTR's with authority, all the movie soundtrack peaks etc...will they be at the bottom of their gas tank?
Please define "Authority" in technical terms. DB SPL is preferred.

Got a SPL meter? Know what even 105 dB peaks sounds like?

If you don't have a SPL meter, here's a good cheap one - $30

http://www.ebay.com/itm/30-130dB-USB...-/251425940110

arnyk is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 04:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 182
A 200W (into 8ohm) let alone what it does into 4ohm will be more than you ever would need.

Something like Emotiva XPA-2 or ATI 1802.

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is online now  
post #8 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There is currently a special by guitar center and musician's friend on crown x series amps. These are re-badged crown xli amps. If you're curious about having enough power then grab one of these as they're an excellent deal at the moment. The x1000 seems to be sold out, but the x2000 and x4000 still seem to be in stock.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-a...350w-power-amp

As to whether you'll need it or notice a difference, that depends on several things not the least of which are your listening habits. The way I look at it is that a few hundred bucks seems like a down payment on satisfying your curiosity. Best of luck either way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post
if yes, then I will step up to the 20 TO 30 amp toaster oven beast amps, 1800-2500 watts in 4 ohms per channel measured...Crown XLS power ratings are peak true RMS is half that.
Just wanted to add that the very high power amps you mention are not the old style "toaster oven" amps if that's a concern for you. They're actually incredibly efficient. Especially the LG's.

Last edited by cmryan821; 08-11-2014 at 04:45 AM. Reason: added quote
cmryan821 is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 05:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I appreciate the inputs guys- The consensus here is Crown XLS 1500-2500 will get me not wanting more, in a 30 ft x 21 ft x 10 high dedicated room.

I'm building a new house, the builder wants to know in the next 2 weeks, "what power is required in the equipment room?" 15 amp/20 amp/30 amp dedicated outlets?

The crown xls series 15 to 20 amp dedicated should do...
For the beast pro amps, they all come with 30 amp plugs...

Dont need to waste installing that kind of firepower if it will never be utilized...

@ cmryan821- A crown test might be in order....

Thanks for the help!
Vince
vince32837 is online now  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 413
I would install a few extra dedicated circuits - 20 or 30 amps - just to have them available should you ever need them. A lot easier to do up front than later.
popalock likes this.
smurraybhm is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 06:17 AM
Member
 
Nodscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For a home theatre room I'd definitely have a couple 20amp circuits at minimun.

Make something idiot-proof, and they will build a better idiot
Nodscene is online now  
post #12 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,480
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post
I appreciate the inputs guys- The consensus here is Crown XLS 1500-2500 will get me not wanting more, in a 30 ft x 21 ft x 10 high dedicated room.

I'm building a new house, the builder wants to know in the next 2 weeks, "what power is required in the equipment room?" 15 amp/20 amp/30 amp dedicated outlets?

The crown xls series 15 to 20 amp dedicated should do...
For the beast pro amps, they all come with 30 amp plugs...

Dont need to waste installing that kind of firepower if it will never be utilized...

@ cmryan821- A crown test might be in order....

Thanks for the help!
Vince
It will be much cheaper to future proof yourself now by installing a few extra dedicated lines as @smurraybhm suggested.

The only constant I have noticed here on AVS is change, so who knows what the future may bring your way that requires more juice.

I stand by the same philosophy when it comes to amp power... Enough power is enough until you want more. Excess power is excess until it becomes enough.


 

popalock is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The 3- JTR 215's supposed to have the bass output of one orbital shifter (OS). So I will start out without separate sub(s). But if bass is not enough, there is room for 1-2 Marty/Chaluga DIY boxes, or couple of S2's behind the false screen wall.

The room will be pretty, with surrounds in the columns, crown molding etc. so the only option for sub boxes is behind the stage..no matter what the USB microphone/REW S/W
says..

Like you guys say- cheaper to put in the power now, run one 30 amp dedicated, and a few 20-amp dediatced in the equip. room, and maybe two 20 amp dedicated behind the stage.

I guess I was reading too many 27.9 amp crown XTI, sine wave benchmark test posts, I needed you guys to give me a reality check...Of course the poster, was using the amp for a 1000 person music festival at the park. I ignored that part!

thanks Vince
vince32837 is online now  
post #14 of 17 Old 08-11-2014, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
I would install a few extra dedicated circuits - 20 or 30 amps - just to have them available should you ever need them. A lot easier to do up front than later.
Big +1. Right now is the time to future proofing and installing extra circuits if you're ever going to do it. It should only be a small additional cost from what I understand.
cmryan821 is online now  
post #15 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 08:38 AM
Member
 
C O D Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brush Prairie, WA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Would the Crown X4000 be a good amp to run 3 LCR JBL 3677's? I would also like to put 2 JBL 3635's (POWER CAPACITY 300 Watt) behind the screen, is the Crown X4000 a good amp for those too?

That sale link you posted seems like a great value for $300.




Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
There is currently a special by guitar center and musician's friend on crown x series amps. These are re-badged crown xli amps. If you're curious about having enough power then grab one of these as they're an excellent deal at the moment. The x1000 seems to be sold out, but the x2000 and x4000 still seem to be in stock.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-a...350w-power-amp

As to whether you'll need it or notice a difference, that depends on several things not the least of which are your listening habits. The way I look at it is that a few hundred bucks seems like a down payment on satisfying your curiosity. Best of luck either way.



Just wanted to add that the very high power amps you mention are not the old style "toaster oven" amps if that's a concern for you. They're actually incredibly efficient. Especially the LG's.
C O D Y is online now  
post #16 of 17 Old 08-17-2014, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 262
I would run two dedicated 20 A outlets plus some standard 15 A plugs for everything else. Also think about your lighting; I do not have track lighting and had a couple of duplex outlets wired so the bottom outlet runs through a switch by the door to turn on a light connected to the outlet.

If you are building I would seriously consider room isolation. Easy now, painful if not impractical later. I used Kinetics Noise Control's IsoMax clips to float walls and ceiling (floor is concrete basement). Double-thickness wall and ceiling panels glued together and all seams and other holes (e.g. electrical outlets, lights) sealed with caulk. I used rock wool insulation and isolated the media room from the house HVAC. I used a Fujitsu minisplit unit for the room HVAC but a number of manufacturers make similar units.

FWIWFM - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #17 of 17 Old 08-17-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
C O D Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brush Prairie, WA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 7
That's good help. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
I would run two dedicated 20 A outlets plus some standard 15 A plugs for everything else. Also think about your lighting; I do not have track lighting and had a couple of duplex outlets wired so the bottom outlet runs through a switch by the door to turn on a light connected to the outlet.

If you are building I would seriously consider room isolation. Easy now, painful if not impractical later. I used Kinetics Noise Control's IsoMax clips to float walls and ceiling (floor is concrete basement). Double-thickness wall and ceiling panels glued together and all seams and other holes (e.g. electrical outlets, lights) sealed with caulk. I used rock wool insulation and isolated the media room from the house HVAC. I used a Fujitsu minisplit unit for the room HVAC but a number of manufacturers make similar units.

FWIWFM - Don
C O D Y is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors
Gear in this thread - 10000q by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off