Question About Pre-Outs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 21 Old 08-12-2014, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question About Pre-Outs

I just ordered a pair of Magnepan MMG speakers. I also bought a used ROTEL RB-980BX amp to drive the speakers. I plan on plugging the Rotel Amp into my Marantz SR5005 AVR's preouts to power the speakers.

I have never used pre-outs before. My question is, will the speakers acquire the sound fidelity from the Rotel or from the Marantz AVR? If this is a stupid question, I apologize in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 08-12-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
The speaker gets the power from the Rotel amp. The Marantz is basically being used as a preamp. The tone settings, Audyssey room calibration, crossover settings for the sub (if you have one), sound modes (stereo, dolby digital), etc all come the Marantz.

I hope that answers your question.

Is this only a two speaker setup? Any subwoofer or other speakers?

Afro GT
post #3 of 21 Old 08-12-2014, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Passes the sound signature of the pre-amp, in my experience. Had two pre amps, two power amps and tried mixing and matching.

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

Jealous of my speakers?

post #4 of 21 Old 08-12-2014, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
The speaker gets the power from the Rotel amp. The Marantz is basically being used as a preamp. The tone settings, Audyssey room calibration, crossover settings for the sub (if you have one), sound modes (stereo, dolby digital), etc all come the Marantz.

I hope that answers your question.

Is this only a two speaker setup? Any subwoofer or other speakers?