LPCM issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-12-2014, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
LPCM issue

Hello,

I have an older Philips surround sound system which only accepts a stereo input through 2 jacks or digital coax input.

I bought an optical to digital coax converter a while back as my TV only outputs 5.1 via HDMI or optical.

If I watch a channel or use a device that has Bitstream DTS/5.1 then the converter works fine and sends the signal to the receiver and I get perfect sound.

If I watch a channel or use a device that outputs in stereo/linear pcm then there is a constant white noise in the background through the speakers.

I've taken a look at the setup options on the receiver and it's set to receive ;all' types of signal. I've tried the other 2 settings 'off' and 'PCM' but had the same result.

I currently have my TV set to output the sound via optical --> 'auto' and if there is a 5.1 signal available there are no issues. However, I have noticed that if I change it to optical-->' pcm only' then the issue with the white noise happens.

I'm not too familiar with these things so I'm not sure if its the converter box, the coax cable or the receiver being too old.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks
sctho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-12-2014, 04:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,598
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
More likely a defective converter.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-01-2014, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the suggestion.

I have tried a replacement converter from a local hardware shop and the issue is still there. It's exactly the same style, size shape and setup by the looks of it (matchbox converter).

Is it worth looking at the more expensive ones? (This one was £10) or is there anything else I could try?

Thanks
sctho is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-01-2014, 01:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,598
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Could be an issue with the receiver then. Might be time to update to something more current.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off