Listening to music off of S4 phone - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Listening to music off of S4 phone

Hi,


I have a Denon 2112 AVR. I used to have an Iphone and that worked nicely to plug it into the USB on the front of the Denon receiver. Quality of the music was good and so was the volume. I now have an S4 Samsung phone. I tried plugging it into the USB like I did with my Iphone, but it won't play. So, I have resorted to plugging it into the RCA inputs on the front of the receiver instead. Quality seems decent still, but it seems like its a lot quieter. For example, the radio tuner is much louder at the same volume than the phone's music through the RCAs all else equal.


What is the best way to listen to my music from my phone through the Denon 2112? What are others doing?


Thanks
mgrotel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 06:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
You can change the source level for each input on your Denon AVR

Go into the setup menu
Select Input Setup
Then Source Level

You can take it all the way up to +12 if you need to.

Adjust it to be as loud as the tuners volume.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,524
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post
For example, the radio tuner is much louder at the same volume than the phone's music through the RCAs all else equal.
Hi mgrotel, try turning up the volume on the phone.
JChin is offline  
post #4 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
When I am in V.AUX mode, it will not let me even pull up the setup menu. I have never messed with the different input volumes, so each one is set to zero (that I can access anyway). When I am in tuner mode, source volume is set to zero. When I am in V.AUX mode, for playing from my phone, I cannot even pull up that initial menu when I push the MENU button. Any other ideas?


I messed with the phone EQ some and it sounds the best in 'normal' mode on the phone. And yes, I have the phone's volume maxxed out.
mgrotel is offline  
post #5 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
jevans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 55
You have to have a USB OTG cable ( $10 @ Amazon ), the USB audio driver, and a music player that supports the driver. This cable just turns your S4 USB port into a USB Host port. In addition to being able to do USB audio, you can also use the cable to connect external hard drives, keyboards, mice, etc.

*** This is IF you want to pass 24-bit audio to a DAC that is connected to your receiver. ***

I don't have an S4, but I have relatives that do. My device has a native USB Host built in, so I just need the driver and software.

If you just want to STREAM your music to the receiver, then all you should need is the regular USB cable connected to the receiver and the AirAudio app from GooglePlay store. It is free, so it wouldn't hurt to install it on your phone and give it a go.

In the good old days before I was fully net-connected, I used to use NET/USB to access music from external USB devices. Now I just send everything to the Oppo BD player since that allows me to plug in external drives and access media on my computer systems as well.

HD-DVD = 94
Blu-Ray = 120 ( 24 Warner red2blu )

Last edited by jevans64; 08-14-2014 at 08:30 PM.
jevans64 is offline  
post #6 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevans64 View Post
You have to have a USB OTG cable ( $10 @ Amazon ), the USB audio driver, and a music player that supports the driver. This cable just turns your S4 USB port into a USB Host port. In addition to being able to do USB audio, you can also use the cable to connect external hard drives, keyboards, mice, etc.

I don't have an S4, but I have relatives that do. My device has a native USB Host built in, so I just need the driver and software.
So to use the USB on the Denon 2112 with my S4 to play music, I would need a cable, some audio driver (for the phone or AVR?), and some different music player on my phone?


I wish I could adjust the input volume on the V.AUX input, which sounds much easier.
mgrotel is offline  
post #7 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 07:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
It is very simple. After you press the V.Aux button on the remote, press the AMP button which is between the CH buttons and VOL buttons in the middle of the remote.

Then you can go into the setup menu and make your adjustments.

Works on my AVR 591 so I'm sure it'll work on your 2112.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #8 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
It is very simple. After you press the V.Aux button on the remote, press the AMP button which is between the CH buttons and VOL buttons in the middle of the remote.

Then you can go into the setup menu and make your adjustments.

Works on my AVR 591 so I'm sure it'll work on your 2112.
This is weird, the AMP button does nothing for me in any mode. At least with the MENU button I can adjust the input volumes in some modes, but not V.AUX.


It is a refurbished unit but has worked well otherwise. Weird.
mgrotel is offline  
post #9 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I mean, if I want to listen to it loud, sometimes I find myself with the MV at +5 and still wanting more. And that is with some very efficient Klipsch speakers.
mgrotel is offline  
post #10 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Find that hard to believe it doesn't work. Select V.Aux input. Then AMP, then MENU

Okay try this.

Press the Source Select button. Toggle over to V.Aux. Press Enter. Then press Menu button. The on screen display should come on. then adjust your settings.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #11 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Find that hard to believe it doesn't work. Select V.Aux input. Then AMP, then MENU
Ok, I am an idiot. I thought when you posted this the first time that after I hit AMP the menu would just come up. I didn't realize I still needed to select MENU after hitting AMP. When I did exactly as you said in the quote, it worked, thank you very much. Wonder why it wouldn't work before when the other channels worked though. Hmmm. I feel like I am getting old and can't figure these things out anymore. Ugh!
mgrotel is offline  
post #12 of 37 Old 08-14-2014, 09:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Glad it worked...enjoy!

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #13 of 37 Old 08-15-2014, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post
This is weird, the AMP button does nothing for me in any mode. At least with the MENU button I can adjust the input volumes in some modes, but not V.AUX.
Connecting analog from the phone to receiver is using the dac in the phone. Better sound quality using usb (digital) from phone to receiver. The phone needs the free app. The stereo can't have apps downloaded into it. For a $10 cable the improved and louder sound is worth it.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #14 of 37 Old 08-15-2014, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
Connecting analog from the phone to receiver is using the dac in the phone. Better sound quality using usb (digital) from phone to receiver. The phone needs the free app. The stereo can't have apps downloaded into it. For a $10 cable the improved and louder sound is worth it.
I see. I do remember the USB having better quality. Do you have a link to the cable I need, either amazon or radio shack or something? And what is the app called? That's it then right?

Thanks
mgrotel is offline  
post #15 of 37 Old 08-15-2014, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
This stuff is complicated LOL
mgrotel is offline  
post #16 of 37 Old 08-15-2014, 12:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
Connecting analog from the phone to receiver is using the dac in the phone. Better sound quality using usb (digital) from phone to receiver. The phone needs the free app. The stereo can't have apps downloaded into it. For a $10 cable the improved and louder sound is worth it.
According to Air Audio site your have to "root" your Android phone first, so it is not quite as simple as just plugging in a cable.

Quote:
ROOT-access required
To use the 'system-mode' and stream the audio-signals of other applications, a 'rooted' device is required!
Android doesn't allow it by nature to get the audio-data of other applications. Therefor a root-access is essential.

Please have a look on http://www.androidcentral.com/root for details about how to root your device, or contact us in case of questions or if you need further help!

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #17 of 37 Old 08-15-2014, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Guess I should have stayed with the apple phone
mgrotel is offline  
post #18 of 37 Old 08-15-2014, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
jevans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post
Guess I should have stayed with the apple phone
Possibly, at least for the support Denon gives it for audio streaming. I have no idea why Google/Android is sitting on their hands concerning USB Class 2 audio support. It has been a highly-requested feature for several years now. I bet the RIAA doesn't want billions of phones able to stream 24bit audio.

If all you have are compressed mp3 and 16bit/48kHz files, I wouldn't bother with trying to make a USB connection with audio support. That $10 cable I mentioned should turn your phone into a mass storage device. You MIGHT be able to access your content on the phone like you would a USB stick but not sure how good the built-in DLNA support is on the newer Denon receivers. I know it was just a simple navigation menu for the Denon AVR I have.

HD-DVD = 94
Blu-Ray = 120 ( 24 Warner red2blu )
jevans64 is offline  
post #19 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 01:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
According to Air Audio site your have to "root" your Android phone first, so it is not quite as simple as just plugging in a cable.
Yea I blew it. USB connection has to be a drive formatted with fat32. A galaxy s4 phone will playback using wireless streaming. The receiver must be connected with a network cable and phone on the wifi network. The free app to stream music is bubbleupnp. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...bbleupnp&hl=en Similar to airplay.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #20 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 04:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post
What is the best way to listen to my music from my phone through the Denon 2112? What are others doing? Thanks
Server mode using that bubbleupnp works using wifi streaming from my s4. Don't have my denon hooked up right now.
Here is a picture of my similar featured yamaha detecting the music using that free app.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140816_045500[1].jpg
Views:	10
Size:	168.6 KB
ID:	214825  
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #21 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
Server mode using that bubbleupnp works using wifi streaming from my s4. Don't have my denon hooked up right now.
Here is a picture of my similar featured yamaha detecting the music using that free app.
Sweet. I'll give it a shot. What mode do I need to have the denon in?
Thanks for the help.
mgrotel is offline  
post #22 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
Server mode using that bubbleupnp works using wifi streaming from my s4. Don't have my denon hooked up right now.
Here is a picture of my similar featured yamaha detecting the music using that free app.
It works! Thanks.
Last question. Is there anyway to play the Pandora app through this as well?
mgrotel is offline  
post #23 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post
It works! Thanks. Last question. Is there anyway to play the Pandora app through this as well?
Pandora is built into the receiver. You shouldn't even need the phone for that. Page 39 of manual.
I don't use Pandora because it didn't sound very good. I pretty much stream mp3 from windows computer to receiver using iTunes airplay.
I don't normally stream from my phone. I had tried it once and knew it worked (if you have a router).

If no internet copy songs to a 32gb or smaller memory stick with fat32 format works good and sounds better than analog.
Either streaming from phone or usb stick should play in zone 2 also. The phone could probably stream from Pandora.
No need so I never tried it. Just press the net/usb button and arrow up or down. It should cycle through all the source options including Pandora.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #24 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Oh yea, duh, thanks!
The quality is definitely better. I had to run the bass so hot with the analog input and now it sounds good again, not just the bass but overall sound. Only that would make it better is if I could control from my phone wirelessly, but that might be asking too much. lol
mgrotel is offline  
post #25 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post
Oh yea, duh, thanks!
The quality is definitely better. I had to run the bass so hot with the analog input and now it sounds good again, not just the bass but overall sound. Only that would make it better is if I could control from my phone wirelessly, but that might be asking too much. lol
Control what from the phone? You can download an app to the phone that controls the receiver from anywhere.
S4 is a powerful phone/computer. Again I don't use my phone for that though. Happy to hear the sound quality improved.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #26 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
Control what from the phone? You can download an app to the phone that controls the receiver from anywhere.
S4 is a powerful phone/computer. Again I don't use my phone for that though. Happy to hear the sound quality improved.
Is there a specific app you recommend for that? Maybe not since you don't use it for that.
mgrotel is offline  
post #27 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post
Is there a specific app you recommend for that? Maybe not since you don't use it for that.
I read your mind. Here it is. (Never used it).
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...emoteapp&hl=en
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #28 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 388
BubbleUPnP works great.

Using Media Server on receiver it saw my Galaxy S3 and I could navigate and play songs with no problem.

Even better, using the Android AVR Remote app on my S3 I could control everything from my phone.

AVR Remote is better than the actual Denon app. Download that one instead.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...vrremote&hl=en

Afro GT

Last edited by afrogt; 08-16-2014 at 10:46 AM.
afrogt is offline  
post #29 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Afrogt is my mentor. Take his advice. I use my phone mainly for camera and texting.
I would like to get a tablet to control my stereo and sources. 5" screen too small for me. (Remote controls everywhere).
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #30 of 37 Old 08-16-2014, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
BubbleUPnP works great.

Using Media Server on receiver it saw my Galaxy S3 and I could navigate and play songs with no problem.

Even better, using the Android AVR Remote app on my S3 I could control everything from my phone.

AVR Remote is better than the actual Denon app. Download that one instead.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...vrremote&hl=en
I am liking that app. Thanks to the both of you for taking the time to help me out. I might be entertaining so guests tonight and this will make it much easier to navigate and have quality sound. You guys are awesome!

Mike
mgrotel is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off