Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 08-15-2014, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amp upgrade option, best bang/$

Hi all,

I was a bit of a newbie (and still am compared to you all) when I put my theater room together last fall so I ended up shorting myself on the amp side. I have my current specs listed below. What happened is I bought a receiver that supports 110W but my 7 speakers are up to 200W each. So the result is that in order to achieve ideal movie listening, i have to crank the volume all the way up to 80% on the receiver.

My question is, what are my options other than buying a new expensive receiver to get more amps to the speakers so I do not have to red line my receiver? aka....best bank for my buck! Do not have a lot of money.

Thank you all in advance for your time and assistance!

Marantz SR6008
Power Output 110W (0.08% @ 8 Ohm), 150W (0.7% @ 6 Ohm)
S/N Ratio 100dB
Freq. Response (Analog In) 10Hz - 100kHz (+/- 3 dB)
Freq. Response (Dig In) No

MonoPrice Speakers
8 Inches Kevlar 3-Way High Power In-Wall Speaker (Pair) - 100W Nominal, 200W Max
Model HSQ-8425

5-1/4 Inches Center Channel Micro-Flanged In-Wall Speaker - 8 Ohm
Model MC-5N(8M)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 08-15-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 379
I bet your Monoprice speakers are 200W peak, I don't think they're meant to be pushed at 200W continuous. With a sensitivity of 90db they shouldn't be that hard to drive. How big is your room?

The difference between 110W and 200W is 3db.

If you have a Guitar Center close by try getting one the Crown X1000 Amps that are on sale for $99. They're going fast though so hurry.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Crown-X1...odf2gAAw&nce=1

Or buy 3 Crown amps if you think you need them for the surrounds too.

Afro GT
post #3 of 3 Old 08-15-2014, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 151