Toslink Switchers or other options? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2014, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Toslink Switchers or other options?

I want a setup where I have 1 TV (22 inches so no HDMI ARC) and like 4 inputs to audio and video. I have an HDMI switcher for the video but I want special audio through an amplifier.

So I buy an amp, now all these devices such as the PS4 and Xbox360 all have outputs for toslink, but I cant really find a toslink switcher thats more than 3.

I havent invested in such a setup but does anyone have any good ideas where I could basically switch between the 4 audio and visually with speakers and headphones and possible even 5 and then 6 switches for the future? Again the only restriction is that I cant use HDMI ARC because the TV I have for this setup is http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN22F5000AFXZA -- 22 inches
konigsberg7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2014, 05:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,393
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3723 Post(s)
Liked: 2182
Simply purchase 1 more optical switch with 1 of them feeding into the other which then gives you 5 optical inputs.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-17-2014, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Simply purchase 1 more optical switch with 1 of them feeding into the other which then gives you 5 optical inputs.
Is this how you would do it? I still haven't bought anything else except that TV.

I'm just wondering someone who know's a lot about AV would do such a setup
konigsberg7 is offline  
Old 08-17-2014, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,703
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by konigsberg7 View Post
I want a setup where I have 1 TV (22 inches so no HDMI ARC) and like 4 inputs to audio and video. I have an HDMI switcher for the video but I want special audio through an amplifier.

So I buy an amp, now all these devices such as the PS4 and Xbox360 all have outputs for toslink, but I cant really find a toslink switcher thats more than 3.
Hi konigsberg7, want to understand your setup.
You have:
- 22" TV with 2 HDMI input which doesn't support ARC (Audio Return Channel) and no Optical Out
- HDMI switch (maybe a 4x1 or 4x2 ?)
- amp (what model ?)

You want:
- video out to 22" TV
- audio through speakers connected to the amp
- audio through optical for headphones (because headphones has as optical input ?)
JChin is offline  
Old 08-17-2014, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi konigsberg7, want to understand your setup.
You have:
- 22" TV with 2 HDMI input which doesn't support ARC (Audio Return Channel) and no Optical Out
- HDMI switch (maybe a 4x1 or 4x2 ?)
- amp (what model ?)

You want:
- video out to 22" TV
- audio through speakers connected to the amp
- audio through optical for headphones (because headphones has as optical input ?)
I just have a 22 inch TV and it does have optical output, Jesus I totally forgot about that, way more possibilties open (in my head)

Still open to other setups.

Again the only thing is that I have this TV: http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/...-0813-11000279 :


Specs are on the site

Last edited by konigsberg7; 08-17-2014 at 08:08 PM.
konigsberg7 is offline  
Old 08-17-2014, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,703
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by konigsberg7 View Post
Still open to other setups.
I don’t know what you’re trying do.
JChin is offline  
Old 08-19-2014, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
I don’t know what you’re trying do.
I want that TV connected to (one TV to 5 devices) 5 devices which do have toslink digital optical output (Gaming Consoles and a PC). which will let me use some sort of small speakers and headphones. --- All connected to one TV. SO I would need an AV switch system between the 5

So I'm open to suggestions on

Speakers (I have Sennheiser HD650 headphones)
an Amp if required
a way to switch the audio between devices


and whatever else you can think of in a setup like this because I don't know much about this stuff. It doesn't have to use digital. I'd use an AV reciever but it doesn't have HDMI ARC (the TV)


Also all devices have HDMI outputs too
konigsberg7 is offline  
Old 08-19-2014, 03:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
I'd use an AV reciever but it doesn't have HDMI ARC (the TV). Also all devices have HDMI outputs too

Why don't you just buy a AV Receiver and use that as your audio and video switcher? Connect all your devices to the receiver since they're HDMI and connect a single cable to the TV.

Why do you feel your need ARC? You don't, you're not sending anything from the TV to the receiver.

Afro GT

Last edited by afrogt; 08-19-2014 at 03:42 PM.
afrogt is offline  
Old 08-19-2014, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by konigsberg7
I want a setup where I have 1 TV (22 inches so no HDMI ARC) and like 4 inputs to audio and video. I have an HDMI switcher for the video but I want special audio through an amplifier.
Quote:
Originally Posted by konigsberg7 View Post
I just have a 22 inch TV and it does have optical output
Quote:
Originally Posted by konigsberg7
Also all devices have HDMI outputs too
Well, then you're all set. HDMI from devices into the switcher, HDMI out of the switcher to the TV, TOSLINK from TV to receiver.

For recommendations on receivers/amps/speakers you'll need to provide more information - Budget, room size at a minimum I would think. If you go with a receiver (with enough HDMI inputs) you can eliminate the HDMI switcher and TOSLINK.

EDIT: What afrogt said...

Last edited by smcmillan2; 08-19-2014 at 03:50 PM. Reason: Because Afro GT beat me to it... ;-)
smcmillan2 is online now  
Old 08-19-2014, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 467
This receiver has 7 HDMI inputs. Should cover all your needs very well.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/TASCAM-PAR10...item1e9086f564

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Old 08-19-2014, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, wow. Thanks
konigsberg7 is offline  
Old 08-20-2014, 12:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol, one more thing. I'm pretty sure the answer is yes... but If I got a monitor instead of a TV -- the monitor has HDMI but no speakers or digital output... The HDMI will still work with the receiver and output audio through the receiver, correct?
konigsberg7 is offline  
Old 08-20-2014, 01:08 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,393
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3723 Post(s)
Liked: 2182
Correct as long as the monitor can be set to a standard TV resolution.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 08-20-2014, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
konigsberg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct as long as the monitor can be set to a standard TV resolution.

What do you mean? Meaning that the monitor must support resolutions such as 1920x1080 (1080p) 1280x720 (720p) etc? What monitors wouldn't now a days?

Last edited by konigsberg7; 08-20-2014 at 02:38 AM.
konigsberg7 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off