How to connect PC, Sony DAV-S550 and 5.1 speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-28-2014, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How to connect PC, Sony DAV-S550 and 5.1 speakers

Hi Everyone,
Recently my Samsung AV receiver died so I had to dig out my old Sony DAV-S550 to replace it. I'm trying to connect it to PC but it's becoming a real nightmare.
At the moment I don't want to spend money on new AV receiver, so if it's possible I would like to use that Sony one, but I'm not sure if it's possible at all.

On PC side I have 3 different sound cards:
1. Built-in motherboard with 3 jacks
2. Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS with jacks, Firewire (I don't know what for) and digital coaxial (which AV receiver doesn't have)
3. Terratec Aureon 5.1 with jacks and 2 Toslink connectors.

Sony DAV-S550 has plenty of RCA jacks and Toslink connector.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/127305043@N02/

I tried to connect it with a Toslink cable but for some reason it doesn't work.
The only way that I managed to connect speakers through this AV receiver was by 1 jack - 2 RCA cable, but only 2 speakers with a subwoofer are working.

Does anyone know if it's possible and how to connect PC to this AV Receiver so all five speakers are working?
la chupacabra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-28-2014, 11:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Change the sound mode on your Sony from Stereo to something else like Dolby Pro Logic II or Cinema Studio EX.

Page 48-50 explains how to change your sound fields.
pdf.crse.com/manuals/4241065131.pdf

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-29-2014, 08:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Change the sound mode on your Sony from Stereo to something else like Dolby Pro Logic II or Cinema Studio EX.

Page 48-50 explains how to change your sound fields.
pdf.crse.com/manuals/4241065131.pdf
Unfortunately I lost the remote control. Is there a way to make it work? I thought that it should work straight after connecting Toslink cable and choosing the right source on AV receiver.
If not with a Toslink cable, can I connect it with analogue cables so all 5 speakers and sub woofer would work?

Last edited by la chupacabra; 08-29-2014 at 09:11 AM.
la chupacabra is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-29-2014, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I installed new software from Terratec website and the sound is working now from Toslink connection, but only on 2 speakers. When I run a settings program there seems to be no option to set it up for 5.1 and it's impossible to set it up under Windows Control Panel (Configure option is greyed out). Any suggestions? Is it possoble that this sound card only support 2 speakers on Toslink cable?
https://www.flickr.com/photos/127305...2/15051473016/

Last edited by la chupacabra; 08-29-2014 at 10:39 AM.
la chupacabra is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off