Help with DTS-MA - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2014, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help with DTS-MA

Hi all,

I have a panasonic SC-XH185 DVD Home theatre system, which doesn't support DTS or any higher audio format. I get the Dolby 5.1 perfectly across the speakers.
Sometime ago I got the Panasonic BDT230 3D Blu-ray player and hooked up its Audio-out to the Home theatre system via Optical cable (Toslink). Now I get the Dolby audio nicely from the Blu-rays as well.
However since the majority of Blu-rays have DTS-MA, I don't get the surround effect as I get from the Dolby audio, presumably because the Home theatre doesn't support it.
How do I go about fixing this? Can I connect my Home theatre speakers to a different amplifier receiver? (And remove the home theatre receiver altogether?)

This is the layout of devices I have set up now,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	245169  
randy077 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2014, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2827 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Go inside the Blu-ray disc audio menu and select the appropriate audio soundtrack.

Or press the Audio button on your remote till you get the proper sound.

*** Or! On your Blu-ray player Setup Menu, for the Audio Out, select PCM as the Output.

Last edited by NorthSky; 09-03-2014 at 09:21 PM.
NorthSky is online now  
Old 09-03-2014, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,512
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 480
You can't get the lossless dts-ma or Dolby true hd over optical. Hdmi only.
Kini62 is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kini62 View Post
You can't get the lossless dts-ma or Dolby true hd over optical. Hdmi only.
Thanks Kini62!
I get the surround effects even when I play Dolby TrueHD. (through optical) It's only the DTS-MA that doesn't quite have the same surround effect. I have switched between them and tested. Therefore I guess the Home theatre doesn't support the format, and I get a flat sound.
Does it mean if I use a HDMI cable to get audio from the Blu-ray player to the Home theater, I may get the full surround effect?
randy077 is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 10:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Buy a new AV Receiver that can handle TrueHD and DTS-MA. Even the $110 Denon 1513 would be better than what you have.

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...d-ready/1.html

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
Old 09-04-2014, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi afrogt,
Can a new receiver accommodate the speaker system of the existing Home theatre? The pins are as shown in the image below. Or can they be converted somehow?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	220825835959_12.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	245418  
randy077 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 03:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
Quote:
Originally Posted by randy077 View Post
Thanks Kini62!
I get the surround effects even when I play Dolby TrueHD. (through optical) It's only the DTS-MA that doesn't quite have the same surround effect. I have switched between them and tested. Therefore I guess the Home theatre doesn't support the format, and I get a flat sound.
Does it mean if I use a HDMI cable to get audio from the Blu-ray player to the Home theater, I may get the full surround effect?
Actually no you don't. What the BDP is playing is the standard DD 5.1 track. As kini62 noted, DD TrueHD cannot pass over optical.

Quote:
Originally Posted by randy077 View Post
Hi afrogt,
Can a new receiver accommodate the speaker system of the existing Home theatre? The pins are as shown in the image below. Or can they be converted somehow?
A HTIB is designed to work as a whole. Just sell it and buy an AVR with a separate 5.1 speaker setup like the one below.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?seq...FSdk7AodbWAAXQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi jdsmoothie,
If I do that, am I still in trouble if the BDPlayer has only 1 HDMI output? (because it's connected to the TV)
Or do I connect the BDP and AVR, and then connect AVR to TV?
randy077 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 3,475
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1144 Post(s)
Liked: 581
Yes, BR>AVR>TV.

AVR: Denon 4520ci, FL/R: Klipschorn, CC: Klipsch RC64ii, SUR: Polk LS F/X x 4, SUB: PSA T-18 x 2, DISP: Mitsubishi WD-73740, BluRay: PS3 & BDP-S5100, Remote: URC MX-700
--------------------------------------------------
Getting Started with REW
Audyssey 101
Audyssey FAQ
Alan P is online now  
Old 09-04-2014, 05:02 PM
Member
 
berstuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Just sell it and buy an AVR with a separate 5.1 speaker setup like the one below.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?seq...FSdk7AodbWAAXQ
What he's trying to say is, start over from scratch. This time do it correctly.
berstuck is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2827 Post(s)
Liked: 932
He still can get the core audio (DD+) from Dolby TrueHD. ...From the digital Optical connection.

As for dts, is there a DD 5.1 audio track with Blu-ray's encoded DTS-HD MA soundtracks? ...Again, only the dts core audio. ...And very unfortunately no go with his receiver.

That reminds me of my old Yamaha 2092 receiver (DD only, no dts decoder).

* Solution: Upgrading? ...Your money, your call, I'd say go for it. ...Borrow money from your girlfriend.

Last edited by NorthSky; 09-04-2014 at 05:10 PM.
NorthSky is online now  
Old 09-04-2014, 07:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Well ... the core DD but not DD+ as DD+ is an HD codec and requires HDMI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks a lot guys.
randy077 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2827 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Well ... the core DD but not DD+ as DD+ is an HD codec and requires HDMI.
You sure? ...DD @ 640 kbps?
NorthSky is online now  
Old 09-04-2014, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2827 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by randy077 View Post
Thanks a lot guys.
What are you going to do Randy?
NorthSky is online now  
Old 09-04-2014, 10:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
You sure? ...DD @ 640 kbps?
DD max bit rate on a BD is 640kbps ==> optical or digital coax

DD+ max bit rate on BD is 6.1Mbps ==> HDMI

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
What are you going to do Randy?
I've checked out some receivers which could do the job, but not in the budget right now...So I guess gotta hold on for some time.
randy077 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2827 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
DD max bit rate on a BD is 640kbps ==> optical or digital coax

DD+ max bit rate on BD is 6.1Mbps ==> HDMI
Thank you sir.

Quote:
Originally Posted by randy077 View Post
I've checked out some receivers which could do the job, but not in the budget right now...So I guess gotta hold on for some time.
Ok Randy.

_______

<<<>>> If someone is reading this thread, and has a spare receiver that he can give to Randy;
that would be a generous gesture, and I'm sure Randy can take care of the shipping.


Thank you for your cooperation.
NorthSky is online now  
Old 09-05-2014, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Gurba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 93
It shouldn't be a problem to use the speakers you have With a New receiver. Just cut the plugs and strip the wires.
Gurba is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Most HTIB speakers should not be used with a regular receiver. HTIBs usually have 3 ohm speakers and will cause most receivers to work too hard. Most receivers want 6-8 ohm speakers. Plus, HTIBs usually have passive rather than powered subs. So, check the specs of your Panasonic speakers to determine whether they are suitable for re-use.

As for your current situation, the BD player will send TrueHD tracks as DD 5.1 at the maximum 640k bitrate and will rival lossless in quality. Since your system can't decode DTS, you have to set the player to PCM, which means you will only get stereo since optical doesn't support multichannel PCM. You can apply a mode such as PLII in the sound system to generate multichannel audio. But, it won't be discrete 5.1.

Last edited by BIslander; 09-05-2014 at 07:13 PM.
BIslander is online now  
Old 09-05-2014, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2827 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Right on BIslander.
NorthSky is online now  
Old 09-06-2014, 12:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Therefore I guess the Home theatre doesn't support the format, and I get a flat sound.
lacelogide is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 01:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,889
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2827 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacelogide View Post
Therefore I guess the Home theatre doesn't support the format, and I get a flat sound.
Which HTIB system do you have?
NorthSky is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off