Would the new Marantz SR 7009 be a significant upgrade over SR7005? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-04-2014, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keenly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would the new Marantz SR 7009 be a significant upgrade over SR7005?

I currently have the Marantz SR7005 powering PMC DB 1i's(5).

I was looking to upgrade within the next few months. I like the fact the SR7009 can take DSD direct and is wireless, but would it be a significant upgrade in sound? I use NO EQ and never will. I just play auto for Blu Rays, SACDS, DVD Audios and music via USB. The other receiver I am thinking of purchasing is the Yamah 3030, again can take DSD and great with movies.

Any thoughts/ comparisons?
cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	002.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	138.7 KB
ID:	245426  

Last edited by keenly; 09-04-2014 at 02:56 AM.
keenly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-04-2014, 04:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,444
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 1502
If you use the Audyssey MultEQ XT32 it would, yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-04-2014, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keenly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you use the Audyssey MultEQ XT32 it would, yes.
I would not use the EQ.
keenly is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-04-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Then IMO the only reason to upgrade would be for Atmos.

Noah
noah katz is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off