Panamax 5300 issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old Yesterday, 12:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
santora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panamax 5300 issue

I've reached out to Panamax to this with no response so I thought I'd ask here.

I've had a Panamax 5300 for a few years and love it. However recently I noticed the that High Voltage OUtlet Indicator no longer illuminates on the unit when it is turned on. All the other outlet indicators work as expected. Now here's the strange part, the High Voltage ports on the unit actually work just fine. The AVR works as expected without issue.

I have checked the circuit breaker on the back of the unit and it is fine.

So does anyone think there's a serious issue with the unit? Or is it a burnt out bulb on the front of my unit?

Thanks.
Mark Santora
santora is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old Yesterday, 07:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I have the exact same issue with "Bank 1" on my 5300. The indicator light no longer lights up, but everything works fine. I assume it's just the bulb and nothing more.
BillP is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old Yesterday, 07:54 AM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Sounds like a dead bulb to me too.
FMW is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old Yesterday, 01:43 PM
Member
 
phannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an M5500-EX and the same thing happened to one of my indicators, the "bank 1 - ALWAYS ON". In my case, the light dimmed for a couple months (it would come on full occasionally, e.g. if the main power went out and was restored, the light usually came on full for a while), then it eventually just went dark. With this behaviour I figured it was just the bulb.....though, I figured LED's would be the "light" of choice, with less chance of it dying.....

There have been no ill effects since the light went dark, so all must be well. It seems to be sort of common...for at least three of us!

P.E.H.
.
phannon is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old Yesterday, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
santora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
I have the exact same issue with "Bank 1" on my 5300. The indicator light no longer lights up, but everything works fine. I assume it's just the bulb and nothing more.
That's what I figured as well Bill.

Thanks
Mark
santora is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old Yesterday, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
santora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMW View Post
Sounds like a dead bulb to me too.
Yeah, that's what I'm working with. I saw tempted to open it up, but figured that's be a bad idea...

Mark
santora is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old Yesterday, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
santora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phannon View Post
I have an M5500-EX and the same thing happened to one of my indicators, the "bank 1 - ALWAYS ON". In my case, the light dimmed for a couple months (it would come on full occasionally, e.g. if the main power went out and was restored, the light usually came on full for a while), then it eventually just went dark. With this behaviour I figured it was just the bulb.....though, I figured LED's would be the "light" of choice, with less chance of it dying.....

There have been no ill effects since the light went dark, so all must be well. It seems to be sort of common...for at least three of us!

P.E.H.
.
Thanks P.E.H. - I"m just gonna let it ride until it goes all feet up on me.

Mark
santora is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old Today, 06:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Since your problem is with the High Current bank, note that there has been discussion that the High Current bank on these mid-level power conditioners may not be ideal for power amps (see the dedicated Parasound thread how these power conditioners may worsen the dynamics and sound stage of amps, also stated in many professional reviews). I'm thinking of upgrading my Rotel amp and Rotel preamp to Parasound Halos, and at the same time upgrading my Panamax 5300 to a Torus RM/Bryston BIT unit.
BillP is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
panamax 5300

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off