No HDMI in Denon - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By jdsmoothie
  • 2 Post By jdsmoothie
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Unread Today, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No HDMI in Denon

I'm at work so currently do not have model numbers but I can provide them later today. I have a denon receiver about 7 years old now. It does not have an HDMI port or micro one either.

I have a Samsung led smart tv about 2 years old now.

When I use the apps like netflix, I cannot get any sound. Am I screwed if my receiver doesn't have HDMI? It does have digital audio out on my tv and opt1 in on my denon. When i hook that up and change the sound on the tv to external, nothing happens. Any insight would help please.
DeuceCT is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Unread Today, 12:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,070
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2242 Post(s)
Liked: 1820
You can connect the OPT OUT on the TV to the OPT IN on the AVR. Ensure the OPT IN source is selected on the AVR.
Robert2011 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 9 Unread Today, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Robert2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can connect the OPT OUT on the TV to the OPT IN on the AVR. Ensure the OPT IN source is selected on the AVR.
This is exactly what I'm doing in our living room with an older RCA receiver and a newer Toshiba TV. Works great with channels (even OTA) that produces DTS 5.1.

Budget Home Theater:
Denon AVR-1911 Receiver, Bic V-1220 Subwoofer, Micca MB42/C Speakers, Epson 8350 Projector, Home-made ~90" 16:9 Screen, Berkline 13175
Robert2011 is online now  
post #4 of 9 Unread Today, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can connect the OPT OUT on the TV to the OPT IN on the AVR. Ensure the OPT IN source is selected on the AVR.
I had that same setup last night, I don't have any manuals. How do I pick the source for the OPT IN on the AVR?
DeuceCT is online now  
post #5 of 9 Unread Today, 12:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,070
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2242 Post(s)
Liked: 1820
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeuceCT View Post
I had that same setup last night, I don't have any manuals. How do I pick the source for the OPT IN on the AVR?
Download the manual from Denon's website.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #6 of 9 Unread Today, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Download the manual from Denon's website.
Hmmm I think a forum on another site from 2 years ago is more helpful than that response, nice try.

"Yes, you need to adjust a setting in your Denon, and yes you need to connect an optical cable from your TV to your Denon. (I told you you were good)

Your System Setup in your Denon is where you need to go. Here's how:
Press Setup on your remote control
Option 6 is your Digital Assign
Assign your digital inputs to a function button on your remote (tv, dvd, cabl, etc.)
When you want to listen to one of them, press that button.

You have to assign these buttons 1) a video connection, and 2) an audio connection"

Guess I will try this next.
DeuceCT is online now  
post #7 of 9 Unread Today, 01:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,070
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2242 Post(s)
Liked: 1820
Hmmm .... I could download your manual and provide you with the answer, or you could. If you do, you get the same info from the manual and learn more about your AVR in the process.
hoyalawya and Helson like this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 9 Unread Today, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Hmmm .... I could download your manual and provide you with the answer, or you could. If you do, you get the same info from the manual and learn more about your AVR in the process.
Had the AVR for over 7 years......So i clearly have no idea about that part of the AVR or how to use it. Must be in the same general area as all the denons. Whats the point of a forum if I can't get quick answers or pointed in the correct direction.

Last edited by markrubin; Today at 02:08 PM. Reason: deleted insults
DeuceCT is online now  
post #9 of 9 Unread Today, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeuceCT View Post
Had the AVR for over 7 years......So i clearly have no idea about that part of the AVR or how to use it. Must be in the same general area as all the denons. Whats the point of a forum if I can't get quick answers or pointed in the correct direction. Came here to learn, what is this? Frontier customer server? Transferring me to different websites and starting over again. ****in scumbag. peace nukka.
Yeah, it's always better to ask a total stranger
To download -your- owners manual to figure out
How to use -your- AVR and report back to -you-
On how to do it.

Much easier. You didn't come hear to "learn'
Anything, just to lazy to do it yourself.

See if you get any more help around here numbn**z
grasshoppers is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off