AVS Forum banner

Old Pioneer SX Receivers

8K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  CitiBear 
#1 ·
So, I've been missing my old pioneer SX receiver that I owned for 20 years because some damned movers stole it and have been looking around for a replacement. I just had an old lower end SX-424, but I loved that damned thing and my vinyl sounded better through that unit than almost any receiver I've owned over the last 30 years.....anyway, I have a lead on an old black faced SX-770...it's in immaculate condition and I can get it for $125.00. DOes that sound fair ?

Also, in case I pass on this one; in general which Pioneer SX receivers do you guys prefer or think sound the best, or perhaps I sound say have better overall soundstage for listening to vinyl records and the radio. I'm going to get one very soon, maybe that 770 tomorrow, So I figured I'd ask you guys for some input. I really love these old receivers and give so much better bang for your buck than buying some new phono preamp to go along with my Sony STR 1050.

#2 ·
I will chime in because I have a SX-201 I bought around 1990. Probably the bottom of the catalog for Pioneer at the time. I am more of a sucker for late 70s to early 80s receivers. YUM! I had a Sansui I can still kick myself for giving away!

#4 ·
thanks, yeah I almost got my hands on a 2230, but it was literally sold about 5 minutes before I showed up at a shop that repairs them. right now there is a sx-636 that I might pick up in the next week.....I was wondering if the x2x series were better soudning than the x3x series though. If anyone has any experience, please feel free to chime in.

#5 · (Edited)