Can a Crestron cnampx-16x60 be used as a regular amp? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-02-2015, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
HowardV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Can a Crestron cnampx-16x60 be used as a regular amp?

I have a chance to pick up a couple of used Crestron cnampx-16x60 amps for free! They are big and heavy amps - so before I break my back hauling them upstairs to my apartment, just wanted to see if they could be used as a regular amp rather than integrated in a Crestron system.

I downloaded the manual and I *think* this amp has to be integrated with a Crestron system as it has some special molex connectors and the manual shows how to program it with Crestron controllers. And it also shows a separate 24V trigger that may be required.

Anyone have any experience with this amp? I'll take it if it can be used as a regular 16x60 amp without having any other Crestron controllers. I don't know anything about Crestron.

Here is a link to the manual:

http://www.crestron.com/downloads/pd...ampx-16x60.pdf

Exasound E38 Multichannel DAC
Spectron Premiere MKII 7 Channel Class D Amp (500w x 7)
2 Anthony Gallo Reference SA Amps
5 Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 Speakers
Sunfire Super JR Subwoofer
Dell Micro PC for HTPC
HowardV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-11-2016, 07:50 AM
Member
 
boontok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
You've probably already found your answer, but others may have the same question.

The amp can run stand-alone, but it requires a 24VDC supply connected to the Crestnet terminal. The amp doesn't need to see Crestnet, just to have the 24VDC to activate its relays. Once that's done, all you have to do is put the power switch in the ON position, and push the Override button on the back. This will turn on the amp and all amp channels. You can now turn the amp on/off with the front power switch. The downside is that if you lose the 24VDC power, you will have to push the Override button again, so make sure it's accessible.
boontok is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-13-2017, 08:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MikeSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi... Do you guys have any idea what the current draw is on one of these with no audio playing but the amp turned on?

I am trying to see if feeding these with chromecasts would work well without an audio detect feature in the amp to switch on the amp automatically.

Thanks!
Mike
MikeSM is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 05-22-2017, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
twellborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for your input on the above thread. I have a question for you:

I have purchased the Crestron CNAMP12x amp and need to get it powered up. You mentioned one would need a "24VDC supply connected to the Crescent terminal". I think I've found one on Ebay. It is a Crestron Cresnet Control System 75 Watt 24V Regulated Power Supply CNPWS-75. Will this work? If so, do I just:

1. Connect the NET 24-Y-Z-G inputs together?
2. Plug in the 110v power cord?
3. Press override button?

and it should work?
twellborn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off