Pioneer SC-79 where to plug in wireless headphones - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-11-2015, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
OfSoundMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer SC-79 where to plug in wireless headphones

Hooking up some wireless headphones via RCA jacks to the SC-79, I have tried almost all of the audio outs but cannot find where I can hook them up so that the output switches with the input selected. I would rather not hook-up to the front headphone jack.

Thanks!
OfSoundMind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-11-2015, 09:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,878
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4412 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
^^
Zone 2 pre-outs

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-11-2015, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
OfSoundMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Zone 2 pre-outs
JD, Thanks for your reply. Thought of using the zone 2 pre-outs but that would preclude me using zone two for music while watching something else. I guess it may be an ok compromise. Just seems lame that they wouldn't have a main pre-out.

Thx!
OfSoundMind is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-11-2015, 09:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,878
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4412 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
^^
It does have a main zone FL/FR pre-out as well which I thought you said you tried?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-11-2015, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
OfSoundMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
It does have a main zone FL/FR pre-out as well which I thought you said you tried?
The problem with that is that when you mute the speakers (which you usually do with headphones) the pre-out mutes as well.

The issue using zones in this way is that I have to patch the analogue audio from each source to the RCA inputs on the SC-79 because the sources that use HDMI (most of them) can not pass through audio to the zones. Quite a hassle.

Last edited by OfSoundMind; 06-11-2015 at 10:44 AM.
OfSoundMind is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-11-2015, 10:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,878
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4412 Post(s)
Liked: 2372
Another option would be to use an HDMI --> analog converter between the sources and the AVR.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-11-2015, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
OfSoundMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Another option would be to use an HDMI --> analog converter between the sources and the AVR.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
I have analog out if I need it from each device already (I have an optical to RCA converter on my AppleTV for music) but even doing that doesn't work if you have speakers on both zone 2 and 3 (which I do) because the sound will come out of the speakers in those zones when using the headphones.

I guess what I was looking for was a monitor out but looks like I will need to use the headphone jack on the front. Would have been nice to have a headphone out on the back.

Thanks for all of your time thinking about this!
OfSoundMind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off