Do i need to recalibrate my AVR if i switch from 60hm setting to 8ohms? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 03:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Do i need to recalibrate my AVR if i switch from 60hm setting to 8ohms?

Hi

Do i need to recalibrate if i switch from 60hm setting to 8ohms? In my case rerun the MCACC?

or i can just leave it as it is?

thanks

Pioneer VSX-919ah / Wharfedale Atlantic AT-500 Fronts / Wharfedale Xarus Rears and Wharfedale EVOLUTION 2 Centre Speaker / Wharfedale SW150 Sub / WD Media Player / LG BD player
xcrossover is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Today, 03:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
braveheart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lone Wolf McQuade from Islamabad Pakistan
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 147
You don't need to. Just change the impedance in avr to 8 ohms.

Just for info.............Ideally you should not set AVR to 6 ohm setting if you are using 6 ohm speakers. You should run them with 8 ohm impedance setting in AVR.

Reducing the impedance doesn't raise the output. Rather, this setting limits the output for amp's own protection. So, whether you run 6 ohms or 4 ohms, keep the impedance in avr at 8 ohms such that it is able to offer everything in the tank.

History is written by those who have hanged heroes ...

Main System: PSB X2T, PSB XC, PSB XB, Cambridge Audio Azur 751R, Rythmik FV15HP, PSB S500
braveheart123 is online now  
Old Today, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by braveheart123 View Post
You don't need to. Just change the impedance in avr to 8 ohms.

Just for info.............Ideally you should not set AVR to 6 ohm setting if you are using 6 ohm speakers. You should run them with 8 ohm impedance setting in AVR.

Reducing the impedance doesn't raise the output. Rather, this setting limits the output for amp's own protection. So, whether you run 6 ohms or 4 ohms, keep the impedance in avr at 8 ohms such that it is able to offer everything in the tank.
Thanks, i found that out here. I have 6 ohm speakers and have set my avr to 6 ohm settings as that what my pioneer said. but after posting my question here i have switched my pioneer 919 to 8 ohms now. was just wondering if i need to recalibrate as i have to wait like midnight when everyone is asleep to run this.

Pioneer VSX-919ah / Wharfedale Atlantic AT-500 Fronts / Wharfedale Xarus Rears and Wharfedale EVOLUTION 2 Centre Speaker / Wharfedale SW150 Sub / WD Media Player / LG BD player
xcrossover is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off